Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-09-2011, 23:02   #1

Boat: Roberts Offshore 38
Thumbs down Projection Errors

Hi all, I think this is a fairly well discussed issue. Previous threads are massive in some cases – difficult to find answers without heaps to time to read up.

I’m fairly new to chart navigation and the use of Mercator charts. I’ve got an Ipad, with Inav and navionics charts. I’m at latitude 35 deg south (approx). Found that the disparity between track line and chart was about 200m / 0.1nm. Is this about what I should expect due to projection error? Just seems so much. We even managed to get in a bit of strife in shallows on the weekend – missed the channel and bottomed out – was able to back out though . Note, track file is accurate as a kmz file.

What I was mainly interested in was whether there is a way to correct this through chart software – from what I can ascertain opencpn can perform corrections. Have I chosen the wrong chart system ? Any advice appreciated. Cheers
kjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 05:08   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Re: Projection errors

You might find Jeremy Hood’s tutorial informative.
Navigational charts

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 07:24   #3

Boat: a sailing boat

It is not a projection error. It is a hardware / software or chart accuracy error.

On a cheapo netbook with a cheapo puck gps we get accuracy of about 10 meters from the chart feature. I think the same applies to chart plotters.

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-09-2011, 12:26   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
It is not a projection error. It is a hardware / software or chart accuracy error.

b.