Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2015, 22:07   #1

Prevailing winds and currents around Australia?

I'm pretty new to all this, but I was wondering, and I do have some reasons for asking--

If you started in Melbourne, and wanted to circumnavigate Australia, which direction would you go, and why? Would it depend on the time of year? I've been looking for charts showing the prevailing winds, but I must not know the best ways to search for them online.

Also, if there is a better forum category for me to ask this question in, please let me know.

Jim the Brave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 22:56   #2

Re: Prevailing winds and currents around Australia?

The easiest way is counter-clockwise, so head up the East coast first.

You can find the wind information from the NGA website or search for Atlas of Pilot Charts on Google and you should find the site.

Avoid the cyclone season up north and be down the west coast before Mid November.
Seaurchin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 23:04   #3

Thanks, Seaurchin2! I do have some friends in Queensland-- I guess I could ask them when typhoon season is! They have been through several nasty ones. What time of year is that?
Old 05-01-2015, 23:19   #4

Cyclone season runs from the beginning of November to the end of April, I think you will find loads of information on the BOM site (www.bom.gov.au)
Seaurchin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2015, 23:50   #5

Boat: Swanson 42 & Kelly Peterson 44

Anti-clockwise has a lot going for it, though clockwise is possible.