Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-06-2011, 08:10   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
PolarCOM not showing XTE / DTN?

PolarCOM receives NMEA Sentences from OpenCPN, but doesn't show anything in XTE/DTN Instruments... any Ideas?

Data (logged it whith File output capability of PolarCOM) is:

$ECRMC,140543,A,3410.200,N,11819.307,W,0.000,0.000 ,150611,0.000,E*70
$ECRMB,A,0.422,R,001,002,3413.492,N,11822.939,W,4. 459,317.626,0.000,V*16

Is this data incorect?

++Luke
__________________

__________________
luke austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2011, 09:34   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Re: PolarCOM not showing XTE / DTN?

Quote:
Originally Posted by luke austria View Post
PolarCOM receives NMEA Sentences from OpenCPN, but doesn't show anything in XTE/DTN Instruments...
current version gets XTE and other route-dependend informations only from PolarVIEW, not from NMEA...

++Luke
__________________

__________________
luke austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2011, 10:25   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
brak's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: East of West
Posts: 252
Re: PolarCOM not showing XTE / DTN?

Actually it's almost the opposite (though externally the result is the same).

PolarCOM is the "brains" when it comes to route-related calculations. It collects sensor data (velocity/direction etc), and uses it together with route information to calculate all route-related values such as cross-track error, arrival times, vmg etc.

PolarCOM needs PolarView to supply the currently navigable route. Once you do so, you can actually close PolarView and route calculations will continue.

In any case, display of externally supplied route-related values is something that is under consideration - but at this point I am not quite sure how it can be done to play nicely with calculated data.
__________________
Polar Navy - because life is too short to use ugly navigation software
brak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2011, 13:43   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Re: PolarCOM not showing XTE / DTN?

brak...

RMB contains allmost all Data - no need to compute that again. Of course there may be some Data which needs calculation, but XTE, DTN, BTN, VMG and also location of the next waypoint would be nice to be parsed directly out of the sentence.

++Luke
__________________
luke austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-06-2011, 14:57   #5
Sponsoring Vendor
 
brak's Avatar

Community Sponsor
Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: East of West
Posts: 252
Re: PolarCOM not showing XTE / DTN?

Luke,

Like you said - only some of the data is available in RMB sentence. PolarCOM calculates more data items. It also may perform these calculations differently (better? ) than an external source.

The purpose of PolarCOM (so far at least) was to collect objective/measurable data from external sensors, and calculate other data items that are not externally measurable.

I understand than under some conditions it may be desirable to have a basic data repeater for an external GPS. This was not a design objective so far, to avoid complicating implementation of "core" functionality. It may be something to consider.
__________________
Polar Navy - because life is too short to use ugly navigation software
brak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-06-2011, 01:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Re: PolarCOM not showing XTE / DTN?

brak,

it would be nice if you consider to display all available Data from external Sensors -
I think GPS-Plotters could be considered to be anexternal source, too...

++Luke
__________________

__________________
luke austria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
arc

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN - Currents Not Showing edsailing OpenCPN 7 01-12-2010 05:08
OS X 1.3.6 GPS Data Not Showing Up brianontheroad OpenCPN 3 04-05-2010 10:56
PolarCOM idpnd OpenCPN 4 15-02-2010 11:02
Some Things Not Showing in 'New Posts' drew.ward Forum Tech Support & Site Help 6 02-06-2009 21:40



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:29.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.