Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2018, 16:43   #1

Boat: BLock Island 40 Yawl S/V Honeymoon
Perdictwind

Perdict wind do you use it?

Are you happy with it?

What do you use it with?

PC? Ipad? Android? Phone?

Pros-Cons
Old 12-01-2018, 17:57   #2

Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480
Re: Perdictwind

Let me say before I go on that I am new to this and have not used any other program before to compare.

I use the budget version and find it is usually wrong. I use it in Moreton Bay mostly. I use it quite often and if you follow it for a week you can see a trend forming i.e. the winds for a particular day softening or increasing. Maybe the timing for a northerly gradually moves closer or farther away in time.

It maybe in a bay that it is hard to predict wind flows around islands etc but they say they are good at it so no excuse there.

If you pick it up today for the first time and want to know what it will be like in 2-3 days from my experience it will most likely be wrong.
Old 12-01-2018, 18:01   #3

Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480

From ^^^

PS...... Sorry, I use it on an Android tablet, I can load it onto the B&G plotter but I'm not live aboard and need to watch it for a few days beforehand looking for a trend.
Old 12-01-2018, 18:02   #4

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 50 'Rogue'

We use the offshore app with the iridium go. Or if in cell reception i use my phones data to check weather on the website. I have the professional package but only because we have a huge amount of offshore miles to cover(done 5000 and have 8000 to go). Normally i just have the basic cheap package.
B00B00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 18:36   #5

Boat: Outbound 44