Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 10:16   #16
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

OK I can reproduce your problem. I'm not recognizing the O in the degrees, min,sec or deg,min. If you change GE to display in Decimal Degrees (Decimale graden in Dutch). It should work.

I will try to fix GE2KAP to recognize the various suffix for degrees in another version.
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 14:47   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Hempens Netherlands
Boat: Molenmakermantelkotter; Motorsailer; 11,5 m
Posts: 16
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

Paul, got this message by sending you a email with the Kapfiles.
Did you reciev anything?

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

Delivery to the following recipients failed.

phiggins@gsm-usa.com
__________________

__________________
simonsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 20:55   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonsp View Post
Paul, got this message by sending you a email with the Kapfiles.
Did you reciev anything?

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.

Delivery to the following recipients failed.

phiggins@gsm-usa.com
Simon...
I doubt so, Paul's address is @gmn-usa.com

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 03:55   #19
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

simonsp,

No I didn't get them but it doesn't matter because I know what the problem is: I don't recognize the "O" when the longitude is degrees,min sec or deg, decimal minutes. Or the "Z" in the latitude when its south.

I could change my code to fix the Netherland language but what about all the other languages that use different letters for East and West? I don't think there is a way through the GE API to determine the language used.

So my solution will be to update the Help to say you must use the Decimal degree format for the lat/lon .
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 18:23   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

dos anyone know the password for ge2kap I downloaded it in a zip but now the zip is asking for a password..also im running opencpn 3.2.1
__________________
mikepeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 18:31   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

Download* - First line above the download links...
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:18   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

ok having a prob I have changed my os still windows 7 but on the last one I had opencpn_3.1.919 .and I was using cm93s the cm93s were showing everything ,,Navigational aids, channel markers, buoys, range finders, cans, and other aids to navigation. now im only getthing very little and ge2kap was working .also I cant fins the correct plug in for ge on opencpn the last ge icon was different looking ,,am I doing something wromg
__________________
mikepeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:36   #23
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

What are your vector charts set to? Go into the Options..Charts...Vector Charts and check the Mariners Standard.

What plugin are you referring to, the GE2KAP plugin? If so copy the ge2kap_pi.dll from your latest GE2KAP installation directory into your ...opencpn\plugins directory (OpenCPN has to be down to do this).
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 06:40   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

Mike...
Most likely - I have never chnaged the icon of the GE plugin since I wrote it years ago. But your info, while being pretty expressive unfortunately contains so little information, that it's really just a guess. Versions, screenshots, log, please...
The chart detail is easy to solve - please, read the manual, especially Vector Charts | Official OpenCPN Homepage and then go to the Toolbox -> Charts -> Vector Charts and set it up to meet your preferences.

Pavel
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 07:43   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

ok now for the ge plugin the last one I had looked like a red swerling thing now the one I have looks like ge icon how do I find this
the last one I had all I had to do was click it and I was ready to make charts from ge now the one I have it opens a small window to ge
__________________
mikepeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:12   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the go. Not in Prague.
Posts: 4,016
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

Mike...
About Plugins | Official OpenCPN Homepage - We would like to see the screenshot like that from your machine. For a start. A screenshot of that "small window to ge" would also tell us what it is. I suppose you are expect that the GE plugin will give you what GE2KAP does, but let's make sure about it...
__________________
nohal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:34   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 28
Re: Overlay GE in opencpn charts

I don't know how to add a photo if you send me a email I can send like that
__________________

__________________
mikepeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charts, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.