Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-10-2015, 16:20   #31
Moderator
 
cabo_sailor's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 1,905
Re: Not using your AIS

I've recently installed a Standard Horizon VHF with an AIS receiver. It displays on a Garmin 7610 MFD. At first I thought it operator error but boats with AIS transmitters, either at dock or coming up the channel while I was docked were setting off the alarm. There was an icon to cancel the alarm, but after a minute the stupid alarm would deactivate.

I spoke with Garmin at the boat show">Annapolis Boat Show about this. Unfortunately the only answer is turn ALL alarms off on the MFD. Not what I call ideal and the factory reps agreed. Perhaps there will be a software upgrade.

I guess this is a bit of thread drift but if shopping for new electronics, it may be worth a question or two.

Rich


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
cabo_sailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-2015, 17:34   #32
Registered User
 
PeterLIA's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Philippines
Boat: Knight & Carver 75'
Posts: 36
Re: Not using your AIS

If we are underway we always have our AIS running, both transmitting and receiving.
I often make steering adjustments based on what I can see the targets doing via their AIS info.
Also I have noted the targets also make adjustments based on what they can see I am doing via my AIS data.
But further to the pirates and kidnapping threads we turn off our transmit function when in waters where those issues are possible, so we don't help them hone in on our location.
In summary a valuable navigation tool.
__________________

__________________
Regards - Peter B
MY LOST in ASIA
PeterLIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 03:30   #33
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Grimsby, Yorkshire, England
Boat: 1978 Eurobanker 34 Flybridge
Posts: 34
Re: Not using your AIS

Hi, I have AIS and keep it switched on but as long as boats/ships are not obliged to use their AIS unless they want to I will rely on my eyes rather than AIS.
__________________
skiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 15:15   #34
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,980
Re: Not using your AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy M View Post
When I do installs of AIS for fishermen, they generally request my adding a switch that allows them to turn off their transmit function, yet retain the receive mode, so other fishermen can't tell where they are located. Some sail racers, also, like to have the option should they choose to exercise some secrecy in their tactical decisions. Like, the sun is going down, and if they choose to cut in close to the beach they can avail themselves of the light airs coming off the land. I call it the "black" switch. Easy enough to do.

How do you do it? Insert a physical switch in the cable path somewhere?

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 15:16   #35
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,980
Re: Not using your AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by cabo_sailor View Post
I've recently installed a Standard Horizon VHF with an AIS receiver. It displays on a Garmin 7610 MFD. At first I thought it operator error but boats with AIS transmitters, either at dock or coming up the channel while I was docked were setting off the alarm. There was an icon to cancel the alarm, but after a minute the stupid alarm would deactivate.

I spoke with Garmin at the Annapolis Boat Show about this. Unfortunately the only answer is turn ALL alarms off on the MFD. Not what I call ideal and the factory reps agreed. Perhaps there will be a software upgrade.

Does the unit not have separate proximity and CPA/TCPA alarms?

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 17:47   #36
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: West Coast FLA
Boat: 1978 Pearson 424 Ketch
Posts: 451
Re: Not using your AIS

Been on the sea for 40 years both commercially and private, never had a collision or close call. altho I've had a few dinghy's run into me at anchor, had the cockpit lit up too. of course there isn't any electronic gizmo that will fix a drunk captain. It's kind of like driving a car. You have to pay attention to whats going on. it's easy to be complacent. But the cost and fault would be yours and could be high.
__________________
tinkrman69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 18:14   #37
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,060
Re: Not using your AIS

I have a class B transceiver. My AIS was showing a CPA of 50 feet on a converging course with a large ferry. I called the captain by boat name and asked him his intentions; to pass ahead of me or behind? He said he saw me and to stand-on, and he made a sharp turn to pass aft of my boat. I said "thank you captain" and he said "you're welcome". I said "my wife thanks you also", and he said "gotta keep the wife happy".
My wife is a classic "admiral" and she has a much lower risk threshold of collision avoidance than I do. My grown kids were also aboard and we all had a laugh about that conversation.

Without AIS on both boats that conversation would have gone differently, there would have been a lot less clarity about the situation aboard both vessels and more stress aboard mine.
__________________
SailFastTri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 18:30   #38
Registered User
 
markpierce's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Central California
Boat: M/V Carquinez Coot
Posts: 3,413
Re: Not using your AIS

Have a continual self-debate on AIS. Haven't seen the need. But if I operated during the night or in an area of frequent restricted visibility, that would push me "over the edge" and get it.

Saw this approaching a mile ahead. We each turned starboard a couple of degrees and had a perfect pass. No communication needed. A typical "engagement."

__________________
Kar-KEEN-ez Koot
markpierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-10-2015, 20:38   #39
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Cruising the Gulf of Mexico.
Boat: 1980 Morgan 415
Posts: 1,439
Re: Not using your AIS

When I lived in Egypt I was amazed to find that many drivers thought the use of headlights rude.

Having but not using ur AIS seems just as daft.


------------------------------
Looking for another pretty place to work on the boat.
__________________
Working on spending my children's inheritance.
Cap Erict3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 08:27   #40
Senior Cruiser
 
Roy M's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southwestern Yacht Club, San Diego, CA
Boat: Searunner 40 trimaran, WILDERNESS
Posts: 3,041
Images: 4
Re: Not using your AIS

ranger42c, in your installation manual you will find a instruction for wiring the silent mode switch. It will be a simple connection to either a momentary or toggle switch - it depends on the manufacturer. I went to Radio Shack and purchased a small black plastic project box and a simple SPST toggle switch for the em-trak I installed this week. Other brands demand the two wires are connected with a momentary switch. It's because toggled switches are powered, momentary switches simply complete a circuit. I have mounted the momentary switches on the back of a NavPod for the fishermen so it's convenient yet insignificant. I've also hidden them for others. I think that all AIS units have this capacity, but I have only installed a few brands (Raymarine, Navico et-al, and em-trak).
__________________
Roy M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 09:31   #41
Long Range Cruiser
 
MarkJ's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Australian living on "Sea Life" currently in England.
Boat: Beneteau 393 "Sea Life"
Posts: 12,828
Images: 25
Re: Not using your AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cap Erict3 View Post
When I lived in Egypt I was amazed to find that many drivers thought the use of headlights rude.

Having but not using ur AIS seems just as daft.
Oh? I thought the drivers did it to save battery? Crazy. I asked a taxi driver why and he said he only turns his lights on when he sees something on the road.
Crazy.

As for turning the AIS on only in congested waters that's just as crazy. Its needed most when you are not expecting anything.

But most turner-offers say they don't wished to be tracked by the Gov'mit. Like the CIA gives a rats ass who the hell some joker on a sailboat is.

Mine is on. It stays on! I am failable - unlike many on internet forums - and I need all the help I can get.


Mark-wid-da-AIS
__________________
Notes on a Circumnavigation.
OurLifeAtSea.com

Somalia Pirates and our Convoy
MarkJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 10:23   #42
Senior Cruiser
 
mikereed100's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Santa Barbara
Boat: 46' custom cat
Posts: 1,571
Images: 2
Re: Not using your AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juho View Post
I have understood that some rich and famous prefer not to announce their whereabouts, and therefore switch off their AIS whenever that is ok.
That is exactly what we do. The paparazzi can be such an annoyance at times...
__________________
Mike

www.sailblogs.com/member/rumdoxy

Come to the dark side. We have cookies.
mikereed100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 10:45   #43
Wayfaring Mariner
 
captain58sailin's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Homer, AK is my home port
Boat: Skookum 53'
Posts: 4,045
Images: 5
Re: Not using your AIS

When I was riding in Cairo, riding in a taxi right at night fall, I asked the same question. When everyone came to a stop at an intersection they all turned off their headlights, I was told it was due to not having very good batteries and I guess their alternators didn't work too good either, but they also thought that if the vehicle was in motion you should be beeping your horn, which was probably a good idea since they were fitting 5 lanes of cars into a two lane highway. As far as the AIS goes, for normal daily operation they are a good source of information for safe navigation, I used them on my tug and it was very helpful. Having said that, I did disconnect it during times (night) while operating off the west coast of Africa due to the piracy concerns, and yes they did have AIS units stolen from the boats that they had captured. Don't have one on my personal vessel due to the expense, will get one once I start delivering fish again.
__________________
" Wisdom; is your reward for surviving your mistakes"
captain58sailin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 11:43   #44
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,980
Re: Not using your AIS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy M View Post
ranger42c, in your installation manual you will find a instruction for wiring the silent mode switch. It will be a simple connection to either a momentary or toggle switch - it depends on the manufacturer. I went to Radio Shack and purchased a small black plastic project box and a simple SPST toggle switch for the em-trak I installed this week. Other brands demand the two wires are connected with a momentary switch. It's because toggled switches are powered, momentary switches simply complete a circuit. I have mounted the momentary switches on the back of a NavPod for the fishermen so it's convenient yet insignificant. I've also hidden them for others. I think that all AIS units have this capacity, but I have only installed a few brands (Raymarine, Navico et-al, and em-trak).

Don't have the softcopy installation manual, so I'll have to check the paper copy when I can retrieve it.

Furno FA-50 operations manual and MFD-12 plotter operations manual, no instance of the word "silent."

-Chris
__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-10-2015, 15:43   #45
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 410
Re: Not using your AIS

Just went sailing with the XO of a nuclear sub. He said they don't broadcast their position with the AIS much. Wonder why?
__________________

__________________
jmschmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cpn not showing ais targets when not connected to routerr delcrest OpenCPN 15 11-08-2015 19:23
Perkins diesel will not start even when using starting fluid, need your opinions! birdsey Engines and Propulsion Systems 30 17-07-2014 00:35
How to not see your own AIS George64 OpenCPN 14 29-09-2013 19:57
Did you build your own compost toilet? Are you using it successfully on your boat? magentawave Liveaboard's Forum 9 28-06-2013 13:36



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.