Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-10-2013, 17:00   #46
always in motion is the future

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Sundeer 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordMay View Post
May I presume that your electronic charts are updated weekly (regularly)? This is a QUESTION, NOT A CHALLENGE ... i have no experience /w E- Charts.
No they are not, but when a new update comes, all of the weekly changes have been worked into it. When you only update your paper charts now and then, you have missed all the updates in between.

In other words: with updated electronics charts, you get a whole new chart while you update. With paper charts you have to pencil in individual updates from a newspaper article, or at least that was how it was when I still did that.

s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-10-2013, 17:27   #47

Boat: Vagabond 39 Hull # 1
Re: NOAA Stops Printing Nautical Charts

Our boat's chart table wasn't worth a spit anyway...
Old 23-10-2013, 17:36   #48
Nearly an old salt

Boat: Bavaria 36
My compromise at the moment is to carry wide area , small scale paper charts as a backup and a way of plotting the whole voyage on. But modern plotters carry so much detail now, its impossible to carry the same in paper. I mean plot a course from Southampton to say Nice and see how many charts you'd need to acquire to be " fully" charted , it's ludicrous and way too costly , not to mention having to get update information from 3 or 4 countries HOs

People talking about paper are either sailing round a few local bays contained in a few charts , got at low cost from NOAA. The rest of us have to contend with multiple HOs, expensive and different charts and datums, charts that are difficult to even find , difficult to update.