Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-10-2012, 20:09   #1
cruiser

Navionics - Why?

Hi there,

Can someone explain to me why the following is so:

I can buy worldwide Navionics charts - i.e every single chart I will ever need for the IPAD/Inavx via x-traverse for about $1,000 USD - but to purchase the same worldwide navionics charts for use on a PC using, say, PolarNavy, then it is going to cost me $6,500 USD (or 5,000 Euro) via Chartworld.

I mean - WTF is this all about?

Note: I am fairly new to electronic charting software so maybe this is something all you experienced PC and/or IPAD navigators have accepted - but I just don't understand the huge discrepancy.

And, I guess it means I am going to use Inavx on an IPAD as my plotter - I can't justify the price of navionics charts for use on PC.
LBW399 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 22:37   #2
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Re: Navionics - why?

Navionics has different pricing for different platforms (i.e. dedicated Chart plotter versus Mac/PC versus iPad versus iPhone). I believe Navionics thinking is the iPad or iPhone is less capable than the dedicated chart plotter or PC/Mac. Chartworld prices are consistently higher than other sources so while PolarNavy may seem like a good value, however once you look into the cost of charts it becomes much less so.
Old 26-10-2012, 22:45   #3

Boat: Hanse 385

I agree it's crazy. What should happen is you buy the charts and they should be available for ALL platforms. PC, iPad, iPhone.

Regards,
Simon
simonpickard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-10-2012, 23:18   #4
cruiser

Quote:
Originally Posted by GPSNavX View Post