Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2010, 09:52   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Boat: Catana 431
Posts: 12
MaxSea v10 USB COM Port Numbers

I am running MaxSea V10 3.2.1 on a Panasonic laptop. I want to install GPS and AIS as USB inputs.

They default to COM6 and 10
By looking in the device manager I can see that my laptop occupies COM ports 6,7,10-14,20-22 with bluetooth drivers, but Maxsea only gives me limited options for COM port numbers 1,3,6,7.

Question: Is there any way to configure MaxSea port so that I can assign GPS to 4 and AIS to, say, PORT 24?

Hope there is some kind of PC guru out there who knows.

Aye aye

Colin
__________________

__________________
cfpcfpcfp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-2010, 17:33   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
i have the same problem......!!!
__________________

__________________
kaysar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 04:16   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lelystad, The Netherlands
Boat: vd Stadt 44, Ben the Boat
Posts: 195
I think these problems are solved in version 12, you should upgrade. One other option is to email maxsea's support
__________________
champ8242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 05:09   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
You have 10 bluetooth devices attached? If not, just repurpose a COM port.
Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2010, 08:37   #5
Registered User
 
speciald@ocens.'s Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the boat - Carib, Chesapeake
Boat: 58 Taswell AS
Posts: 1,139
With Windows XP and later, you can assign port numbers. Not with Me or earlier. Find instructions on Microsoft web site.
__________________
speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2010, 14:35   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UK
Boat: Catana 431
Posts: 12
I have no idea if my Laptop has any Bluetooth devices, but I certainly don't use them. If it does, and I switch over to one of those ports, what will happen when eh Bluetooth device tries to get it back?
__________________

__________________
cfpcfpcfp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MaxSea and USB GPS sokari Navigation 27 27-04-2010 17:30
MaxSea 10 and USB GPS...URGENT! Captain Jaz Navigation 13 18-10-2009 09:17
MaxSea V10 & CM93 Charts topaz Navigation 15 15-06-2009 06:23
Maxsea 10 and usb gps issue moongoose Navigation 7 03-05-2009 15:14



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.