Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2014, 14:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
MaxSea PTZ Format

I am try to convert some data from a MaxSea 300b.ptz file into a format I can use. It was easy enough to convert the database to a text file but I am not certain how to convert the listed lat/lon into a useable state. My first thought was they were in radiuse but that does not seem to be the case. Anyone have a clue?

A couple of lines from the file. This should be around Boothbay Maine

"Level","Lat","Lon","WeightDepth","ValueDepth"
5,146651040,123452608,1,-6.2280797958374
5,146651040,123452640,1,-6.04519987106323
5,146651040,123452672,1,-6.04519987106323
5,146651040,123452736,1,-5.86231994628906
__________________

__________________
Dan Ullman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 05:48   #2
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: MaxSea PTZ format

I was able to figure it out a couple of years ago when I added the code to convert Maxsea to gpx kml to my program C2GPXKML that coverts various formats. You can get my program from the Downloads page of my website:
www,gdayii.ca




Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 09:51   #3
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: MaxSea PTZ format

That should have been: Sample

My C2GPXKML converts from Maxsea .ptf format and does not support the .ptz format. If you can convert the .ptz to .ptf format it should read it.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 05:31   #4
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: MaxSea PTZ Format

I suspect that the lat/lon are stored the same way in the .ptz file as they are in .ptf files and are simply not translated right when converted to text. If you could send me the original .ptz file I might be able to decode it properly.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inland River Charts in RNC Format Daddy's Dream Navigation 75 11-06-2015 13:02
Bahamas Explorer Charts in BSB Format? geoffschultz Navigation 29 16-05-2015 11:21
Can Garmin format be converted into a format to use in OpenCPN..... Syserenity OpenCPN 1 16-07-2013 11:41
Convert MaxSea Routes and Tracks to .gpx Format yachtvalhalla OpenCPN 1 06-07-2010 22:09
Time Format Sonosailor Forum Tech Support & Site Help 0 17-09-2003 10:27



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.