Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-09-2008, 07:21   #31
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Hello, other problems. I had an Acer Aspire 3500, worked prima till the moment I salt water came over it, fat to late we saw it, nothing works anymore. There was no much on it; my MaxSea was the most important of al. If I tray to download from my original CD it wont start, it gives me an error warning. What to do?
__________________

__________________
mbu745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 08:24   #32
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
salt water is not good for electronic circuits. If it is failed already, I reckon I would remove the hard drive, and CD. I would try fresh water to remove the salt, and then drying. I have no idea if it would work, but doing nothing isnt going to be effective either.
__________________

__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2008, 13:56   #33
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,042
mbu, if you value your data, buy another same model computer, swap in the old hard drive and CD and see if they will work in it. Odds are the hard drive, which is sealed, hasn't taken salt water damage unless you see white crusts and the like on the connections to it, so it can be used elsewhere.

Or take it in to an Acer service facility, and let them check that out for you before you invest in another computer.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 05:00   #34
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Hellosailer and Talbot, thanks for the info's, I handed in the Acer, they said it’s good for the "bin", so I threw it away and bought an other laptop, I never thought of taking out the hard disk witch was a big mistake. They checked the MaxSea CD and there conclusion was that it was damaged as well, so I tried to install the CD myself on the new laptop and it failed. What now?
__________________
mbu745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 09:33   #35
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
Assumng that it is official software, send an email to the company and ask if you return it, will they replace it?
__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 12:03   #36
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,042
As Talbot suggests, most companies will sell you replacement media (not a new license, but replacement media) for a nominal sum.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 17:54   #37
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Hello everyone
Need help with Maxsea (v.11) GPS (Fururno 32) connection. When I connect the GPS to my laptop (have Windows vista) Maxsea does not shows the position, but I can see that the GPS send data. Anybody can help me with that?
__________________
irma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 17:58   #38
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
more maxsea problems

Hello everyone
Need help with Maxsea (v.11) GPS (Fururno 32) connection. When I connect the GPS to my laptop (have Windows vista) Maxsea does not shows the position, but I can see that the GPS send data. Anybody can help me with that?
__________________
irma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 13:03   #39
Registered User
 
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
Need some more details... How is it connected, what protocol (NMEA?), what did you use to verify the GPS is sending data, etc...

(P.S. rather than continuing this thread, it's OK to start a new one specific to your problem/topic)
__________________
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 13:25   #40
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
The GPS is conected through USB - Serial Port adapter. The data fom the GPS is read and interpreted by Other Aplication (Seaclear, C MAP) without probem.
Maxsea recognises the reading on the DATA DISPLAY if I set the input setting on "Furuno CIF" instead of "NMEA 183" but not on the CALCULATION. So no Boat on the map.
(The GPS a FURUNO 32 worked perfectly with Maxsea 11 on the last PC)
Do you need more information?

Started a new thread "Maxsea GPS connection problem"
__________________
irma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 16:52   #41
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
Maxsea can be a beast to set up, but it is worth it. Your problem is almost certainly that the message stream being sent by the GPS is different to that which your set up is expecting. position course and speed can be sent by several different NMEA messages. The page showing what is being transmitted will show you which nmea sentences are being received from the GPS, you then just need to set up the input to expect to see those messages.
__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 20:13   #42
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Aboard, Pago Pago, Am Samoa
Boat: Hughes 38 Thalia
Posts: 52
That's weird, I've always been able to use version 7.3 on every computer I've loaded it on to. My current computer accepted version 10.3(?) as well until I went on line and Bill Gates upgraded it to SP2, now it's up to SP3 and won't take 10.3 or 11.?. but the old 7.3 always works. George
__________________
George Elliott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 11:02   #43
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Hi Talbot

Since I can only see what is comming if I set the com to "FURUNO CIF" the possibilities are only 2. for the position (CLL) only "21" and "24" (what ever thats meens). The COG and SOG have similar numbers. So still no results.
Thanks for help. I am off sailing for the next month
__________________
irma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 12:00   #44
Senior Cruiser
 
Talbot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Privilege 37
Posts: 3,579
Images: 32
Irma, I am not ignoring you, but need to load Maxsea back on to my system, in order to provide you with details. I will do so as soon as possible, but am rather busy at the moment - 12 hour days and next weekend work as well,

If you are desperate, let me know and I will try, but otherwise leave for a couple of weeks and I will give you chapter and verse.
__________________
"Be wary of strong drink. It can make you shoot at tax collectors - and miss."
Robert A Heinlein
Talbot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 15:00   #45
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 26
Helo Talbot and Hellosailer, that's a very good advice, I'll contact today the company and gone ask for a replacement. Thanks. mbu745
__________________

__________________
mbu745 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MapTech charts in MaxSea Gisle Navigation 6 10-06-2015 17:14
windbugger problem irwinsailor Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 12 26-07-2004 14:49



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.