Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-09-2010, 08:15   #1
Registered User
 
Agility's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Boat: Chris White A47 Mastfoil
Posts: 310
Images: 6
Maxsea and VMware and Bootcamp on MacBook

I've installed the latest version on MSTZ and it sees to work fine under VMware running Windows 7. However I like the idea of also running it native on Window 7 by using bootcamp to make sure it's more stable.

I can't seem to get a configuration that works with Bootcamp and VMware simultaneously although I've gotten it to work with both independently. The problem is a licensing/activation problem that tells me one is no longer active once I get the other instance activated. Has anyone figured this out.
__________________
Agility is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2010, 08:30   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 613
Both Bootcamp and VMware on a MAC? I've had limited luck trying to run multiple virtualization platforms on the same host. I've had zero luck running them both at the same time.
__________________
Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-09-2010, 08:49   #3
Registered User
 
Agility's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Colorado
Boat: Chris White A47 Mastfoil
Posts: 310
Images: 6
I could have said that more clearly. I have an installation on a native bootcamp partition. VMware allows me to use the same partition as a VMware instance or boot directly from the bootcamp partition and run windows.

I can boot in OSX and use VMware to run MSTZ after activating. That works fine. I can boot directly from bootcamp and run MSTZ after activating, that also works fine. My problem is that when I got to reboot and start under VMware it deactivates the software under bootcamp and cant reactivate it because I've used all the tokens. I've contacted support to reset my activation tokens but it doesn't seem to allow me to switch once I've got one activated. I suspect it's a different IP or something and that VMware and bootcamp can't use their activation scheme for this setup.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Agility is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building OpenCPN on a MacBook Pro NickA OpenCPN 55 23-09-2010 12:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:21.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.