Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 25-02-2003, 08:46   #1
Ex-captain
 
Gisle's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Drammen, Norway
Boat: FP Belize 43 cat (2001)
Posts: 291
Images: 35
Question MapTech charts in MaxSea

Is it true that all MapTech charts can be used without any codes in the MaxSea navigation system?

I've bought a lot of MapMedia charts for my MaxSea, and getting the codes for them cost a lot - especially since I need to cover for a circumnavigation.

__________________

__________________
Happy cruising,
Gisle


"What's important in life is not how many breaths we get to take,
but those moments that take our breath away"

Jaques Cousteau
Gisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 12:26   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 14
Maptech Charts

Not that I'm aware of. It would be a matter of buying what digital charts you need or want and away you go. Same thing for Softcharts which also produce nice looking raster charts. I'm not familiar with MapMedia too much, but sounds like the same procedure as the C-MAP NT/PC Selector CD, where you choose from the CD what charts you want and after payment, the charts are unlocked for you to use.

I'm mainly distance sailing too, so I understand too well the expense of covering a circumnavigation. Thankfully the program I use has an added function to scan my own paper charts which I've had to do on several occasions.
__________________

__________________
Gerald Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2003, 12:59   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 14
Sorry!

I'm sorry .... I didn't word my previous posting very well. I should've said, "you're right" ... as far as I know no codes are needed to use Maptech charts with MaxSea. I wish I could say it's late on Friday night but it isn't that late. Sorry to all for any confusion. I'll take more care next time. Have to add the confused icon now .
__________________
Gerald Simons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2003, 03:18   #4
Ex-captain
 
Gisle's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Drammen, Norway
Boat: FP Belize 43 cat (2001)
Posts: 291
Images: 35
Smile No worries Gerald

Don't worry about telling us something and then to realise it was wrong. It's very easy to edit your post if you realise it right after posting. If others have replied to your post, it may be better making a follow-up post - it's up to you.

I have already bought a lot of MapMedia charts for my MaxMedia. They are good, but coded and expensive. Now a friend has given me a CD with Maptech charts for the Med. and I realise I can use them without any codes. They are not much different from the expensive MapMedia charts.



Is it general for the MapTech charts that I don't need codes to use them with MaxSea?

Anyone else with this experience?

Any MapTech chart users out there?
__________________
Happy cruising,
Gisle


"What's important in life is not how many breaths we get to take,
but those moments that take our breath away"

Jaques Cousteau
Gisle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 16:02   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Marina Del Rey. California
Boat: Beneteau 373
Posts: 11
Re: MapTech charts in MaxSea

Does anyone have any experience with a Fleming Windvane. Jessica Watson used one on her solo circumnavigation. It's made in Australia so it was a natural for her.
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Endeavor4419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 17:06   #6
Registered User
 
Albro359's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Elyse is in Fiji
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 2000
Posts: 510
Re: MapTech charts in MaxSea

Quote:
Originally Posted by Endeavor4419 View Post
Does anyone have any experience with a Fleming Windvane. Jessica Watson used one on her solo circumnavigation. It's made in Australia so it was a natural for her.
Thanks
Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
This has nothing to do with this thread. You should look for a thread on windvanes....

However....


We had a Fleming windvane on Diva for 8 years, we did 15000 miles in the South Pacific with her and Mr Fleming and as long as the boat was well balanced before engaging it, it sailed her very well. AND it's all stainless steel, cast mounts, thick wall tubes, very solid and reliable..we loved it
__________________
See you out there ....... Alan S.V. Elyse
now http://svelyse.weebly.com
older http://voyagesofDIVA.weebly.com
Albro359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2015, 17:14   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Marina Del Rey. California
Boat: Beneteau 373
Posts: 11
Re: MapTech charts in MaxSea

Thanks. This my first post, couldn't find where to put it.
__________________

__________________
Endeavor4419 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charts, maptech, maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On-Line Pilot Charts GordMay Navigation 0 02-05-2004 06:20
Source for paper charts sjs General Sailing Forum 7 18-03-2004 02:44
Tide Charts GordMay Navigation 2 08-08-2003 10:21
Used paper charts available Bob Navigation 1 30-07-2003 02:43
NOAA Electronic Chart Updates GordMay Navigation 2 17-07-2003 20:20



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.