Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-09-2011, 19:12   #1

Intracoastal Waterway in NJ - Check My Chart Reading, Please

Hi! I may be picking up my "new to me" boat this weekend, if all goes well. If it happens, I'm considering one of two options: follow the intracoastal waterway from the Lavalette area of NJ down to the southern end of Peck Bay in Ocean City, or go out to the ocean. I'm still pretty new to sailing, so the prospect of a "first sail" out in the ocean is a little daunting, but not so much that I'm completely detered by it.

If all goes according to plan (and if the weather holds up) I'll be sailing/motoring a swing keel Catalina 25. As I read the chats (NOAA charts 12316 (http://www.charts.noaa.gov/OnLineVie...316.shtml) and 12324 (Chart 12324), I'm looking at a bridge-free pass from Lavalette all the way down to Atlantic City. I then count four bridges that will be a problem for the Catalina, assuming I take the ICW. As I understand it, the Catalina's mast is about 33' from the waterline. There's one other bridge that's 35' (assuming I hit it at exactly high tide on an average day, as I understand the charts), and I should JUST eek under it, if there isn't a wind vane on top of my mast (hmmmm...need to check that!). Would someone mind confirming this for me? I also don't think the 2' draft with the keel up should pose a problem for the entirety of the trip.