Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Seamanship, Navigation & Boat Handling > Navigation
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-03-2014, 10:05   #1
Marine Service Provider

Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 423
How to do a 18 month circumnavigation from San Francisco?

Buy boat: Check
Find crew: Check
Save money for trip: Check
Decide on route:

I never thought that planning a route for an 18 month circumnavigation would be so difficult. There are so many factors to consider! Home port is San Francisco and the departure date can be either February 1st, 2015 , May 1st, 2015 , August 1, 2015 or November 1, 2015 (I work in sales and that's when quarters end so I want to earn a full quarters comission before I go)

Keeping in mind hurricane/storm seasons and that sailing through the Mediterranean is a must (please don't lecture me on piracy, I'm going through the Suez canal and assume all the risks-Please stay on topic about the route), how would you plan your circumnavigation? What would be your departure date and main stops in what months along the way?

I can stretch it up to 24 months, but I'm really trying to keep it as close to 18 months as possible.
YoloSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2014, 10:17   #2

Boat: Luders 33 - hull 23
Re: How to do a 18 month circumnavigation from San Francisco?

No offence, but you are starting it on the wrong path.
You would be foolish to attempt a circumnavigation on a schedule, specially such a short one. Mother nature is the master, not you...
SVTatia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-03-2014, 10:23   #3
cruiser