Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-06-2012, 13:45   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

I have a Furuno FA150 AIS with Ethernet output. How to connect this with Opencpn as there is only Com1 and Garmin selections avilable in AIS settings (in Opencpn). And is there any method to check the sentences received in the Ethernet port?
__________________

__________________
rakhesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 15:11   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

1) I don't believe the FA150 has an Ethernet port, do you mean the FA50?
2) Furuno Ethernet is proprietary, nothing but Furuno/Maxsea is compatible.
3) You can use your NavNet MFD to repeat the AIS to a NMEA port and connect that to OCPN.
__________________

__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 15:22   #3
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
1) I don't believe the FA150 has an Ethernet port, do you mean the FA50?
2) Furuno Ethernet is proprietary, nothing but Furuno/Maxsea is compatible.
3) You can use your NavNet MFD to repeat the AIS to a NMEA port and connect that to OCPN.
Ehrmmm.. hold on... everybody knows how to access Furuno NavNet data on Ethernet, right? It's just 0183 format on a UDP port that I don't know from memory but it is well known and mentioned in old threads here on CF too.

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 16:08   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Ehrmmm.. hold on... everybody knows how to access Furuno NavNet data on Ethernet, right? It's just 0183 format on a UDP port that I don't know from memory but it is well known and mentioned in old threads here on CF too.

ciao!
Nick.
So, who besides Furuno/Maxsea support it?
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 16:11   #5
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
So, who besides Furuno/Maxsea support it?
Every decent virtual-serial-port driver...

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 17:40   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,432
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Every decent virtual-serial-port driver...

ciao!
Nick.
Do you have a favorite? I didn't know this and I'm ready to play!
__________________
DotDun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 18:36   #7
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun

Do you have a favorite? I didn't know this and I'm ready to play!
Ehrmm..... WinGPS? a search should bring this up on CF. I actually had it running but didn't need it.

cheers,
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 22:37   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

DotDun : Sorry I was mistaken, it is FA50.
__________________
rakhesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-06-2012, 22:41   #9
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Re: How to connect AIS with Ethernet in Opencpn

Can anybody tell me how to do this : Connect FA50 (it got only Ethernet out) to Opencpn. I am not an expert so pls explain briefly or a link to a thread?
__________________
rakhesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2012, 11:02   #10
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi

Ehrmm..... WinGPS? a search should bring this up on CF. I actually had it running but didn't need it.

cheers,
Nick.
Too late to edit my post... it is WinGate, not WinGPS.

WinGate can receice 0183 data from an UDP socket and feed it to a virtual serial port... or 10 virtual serial ports if you like to run multiple programs that use the data.

The port nr. To use must come up in Google or even a forum search.

ciao!
Nick.
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, opencpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.