Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-06-2015, 13:50   #1
Registered User
 
Russ's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Montpelier,VT
Boat: Brewer 44' Steel
Posts: 151
Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Guys.
Have Homeport but can't understand difference between a Route and a Track. Called Garmin. The tech says they are Almost the same but a track is quicker to lay down.
I ask because I have a single point a bit off the previously laid route. When you place the pointer on it a bubble appears with a number but I can't figure out how to erase it. Nothing works and eraser function is not lit up as a choice to be used. Ideas? Comments re route/ track thing.
Thanks. Russ
__________________

__________________
Russ
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2015, 19:16   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,712
Re: Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Generally:
A track is a record of where you have been.
A route is a plan for where you intend to go.

A track just records a series of locations (and can display the distance and bearing between the points)

A route can store a lot more information. HP will automatically give you the expected time and fuel consumption for each leg based on your selected boat profile. By displaying the details of a route, you can put in start date/time, different leg speeds, layover periods, refuelling etc so you can use it as a passage planning tool.



Have you tried selecting and right clicking on the "single point", you should get a context sensitive popup menu.
__________________

__________________
StuM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2015, 19:28   #3
Registered User
 
Russ's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Montpelier,VT
Boat: Brewer 44' Steel
Posts: 151
Re: Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Ya in most cases what you say is true but NOT in Homeport. You CREATE a track and a route on the Homeport program. Hence the rub, Homeport treats a track differently than things like CE, or The CAPN. No offense but you haven't used Homeport I guess. Remember Homeport is ONLY a planning software. Once the Homeport route/track is loaded on the Garmin chart plotter things are different, then what you say applies.

That's the question I am asking how is Homeport different in the way it treats a track and a route. Why chose to plan using a track vs a route

Russ
__________________
Russ
Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2015, 19:41   #4
Registered User
 
Capt. Fisher's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2015
Boat: Chris-Craft Carribean 35'
Posts: 33
Re: Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Sometimes a waypoint routing will take you through mountains in my neck of the woods. I like my tracks!
__________________
Capt. Fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2015, 19:53   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
StuM's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Port Moresby,Papua New Guinea
Boat: FP Belize Maestro 43
Posts: 6,712
Re: Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ View Post
Ya in most cases what you say is true but NOT in Homeport. You CREATE a track and a route on the Homeport program. Hence the rub, Homeport treats a track differently than things like CE, or The CAPN. No offense but you haven't used Homeport I guess. Remember Homeport is ONLY a planning software. Once the Homeport route/track is loaded on the Garmin chart plotter things are different, then what you say applies.

That's the question I am asking how is Homeport different in the way it treats a track and a route. Why chose to plan using a track vs a route

Russ
On the contrary. I had Homeport open and was checking what I was posting as I did it.

It's not only "planning software". In addition to route (not track) planning, I use it both as a trip archive and as a post-race analysis tool after importing tracks from a GPS.

The simple anwer to "why chose to plan using a track vs a route" is: Don't! Routes are designed for planning. Tracks are not.

The fact that HP lets you create a track manually by clicking on points and also edit tracks doesn't alter anything I said. (That's why I started off with the word "generally"). Such a track has limited use as a planning tool. Unlike a route, you can't put in the other variables required for planning such as speed, fuel, layovers.

FWIW, I regularly import tracks from my handheld Garmin into HP and use HP for route planning - exporting the routes to the handheld once I have them fully planned.

Creating a track for planning purposes in HP is like using a hammer to insert a screw. You can do it, but it's not the right tool for the job and the end result will not be as good.
__________________
StuM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-06-2015, 23:04   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 38
Re: Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Its a matter of terminology.

Track *usually* refers to a recorded track. You can use any garmin device (or even phones) to record tracks. Typically a track would record your GPS location every few seconds. So if you record a track for even an hour, it would have 1000s of points (literally).

For e.g. this a recorded track I found online.

Marine Track

Route is a collection of waypoints that you follow in order to get from point A to point B. When plotting a route manually you typically follow a channel (if there is one), go around hazards/shoals/shallow areas.

For e.g. this is a route.

Marine Route

Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ View Post
Guys.
Have Homeport but can't understand difference between a Route and a Track. Called Garmin. The tech says they are Almost the same but a track is quicker to lay down.
I ask because I have a single point a bit off the previously laid route. When you place the pointer on it a bubble appears with a number but I can't figure out how to erase it. Nothing works and eraser function is not lit up as a choice to be used. Ideas? Comments re route/ track thing.
Thanks. Russ
__________________
-- opencpn.org
-- charts.noaa.gov
karle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2015, 09:28   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Antioch CA
Boat: Cal 39
Posts: 189
Re: Homeport Tracks vs Routes

Quote:
Originally Posted by karle View Post
When plotting a route manually you typically follow a channel (if there is one),
I'm glad you said "typically" as there is a channel through San Pablo Bay (San Francisco Bay Area) where the marked channel is restricted. Recreational boats are directed on the chart to stay out of it.
__________________

__________________
secrabtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
route

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sync Waypoints, Routes and Tracks with Dropbox timohara OpenCPN 2 21-10-2013 18:55
Routes and Tracks Don't Persist hooroo OpenCPN 1 14-10-2012 22:27
Maxsea waypoints/routes/tracks into OCPN? Jim Cate OpenCPN 1 03-07-2012 09:05
Splitting and extending routes and tracks PjotrC OpenCPN 7 24-03-2011 01:49
Convert MaxSea Routes and Tracks to .gpx Format yachtvalhalla OpenCPN 1 06-07-2010 22:09



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.