Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2011, 03:18   #331
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Looks like depending how fast the system is I didn't give the plugin time to save the gpx file. Added a check to see it was saved before reading it.

Try V4.1.4
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2011, 03:55   #332
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

JohnB,

I tried the chart you sent me on OpenCPN, SeaClear and Fugawi and they all load and display it ok. So I don't know why Maxsea gives an error. Perhaps you can send it to Maxsea support and ask them why it gives the error and what it means.

Is anyone else able to use charts created by GE2KAP on MaxSea?
__________________

__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2011, 02:24   #333
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 816
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Looks like depending how fast the system is I didn't give the plugin time to save the gpx file. Added a check to see it was saved before reading it.

Try V4.1.4
Solved the problem of one French user (overjoyed, sends many thanks to you)
Waiting to hear from another (could be simply a oorexx install problem)
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2011, 02:20   #334
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

SailorF54,

Thanks for the feedback, but working on JohnB's Maxsea problem I discovered that the scale is not correct on the charts produced. So just uploaded GE2KAP version 4.1.6 that corrcts the scale. Please try it.

JohnB,
Could you try the new version and see if the charts created work on Maxsea, maybe it got upset with the wrong scale.

www.gdayii.ca/Downloads GE2KAP

Also, I noticed a problem if you have the OpenCPN plugin active with the GE window undocked. If you turn it off and back on again and then produce a chart, its not quite correct because the GE window doesn't get maximized. Discussing this with Pavel to see why.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2011, 06:05   #335
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 816
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post



Is anyone else able to use charts created by GE2KAP on MaxSea?
Just tried (I never realized I could !!!) No problem with release 4.1.6
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Mxsea.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	328.4 KB
ID:	27496  
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2011, 11:25   #336
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Zealand
Boat: Custom Steel Ketch, 52ft
Posts: 13
Thumbs up Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
SailorF54,

Thanks for the feedback, but working on JohnB's Maxsea problem I discovered that the scale is not correct on the charts produced. So just uploaded GE2KAP version 4.1.6 that corrcts the scale. Please try it.

JohnB,
Could you try the new version and see if the charts created work on Maxsea, maybe it got upset with the wrong scale.

www.gdayii.ca/Downloads GE2KAP

Also, I noticed a problem if you have the OpenCPN plugin active with the GE window undocked. If you turn it off and back on again and then produce a chart, its not quite correct because the GE window doesn't get maximized. Discussing this with Pavel to see why.
The latest version works fine with Maxsea. I have produced 2 test charts and they load into Maxsea no problem at all. Thanks Paul
__________________
JohnB

I once new a women who drove me to drink, but I didn't have the good manners to thank her.
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2011, 20:36   #337
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New Zealand
Boat: Custom Steel Ketch, 52ft
Posts: 13
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

After doing more comparisons with the "new" chart versions versus the "older" versions I think there is a degradation in the image quality when viewed in Maxsea.

Just a subjective comment but it is noticeable where I have added placemark, on a rock for example, in GE before producing a chart.
__________________
JohnB

I once new a women who drove me to drink, but I didn't have the good manners to thank her.
JohnB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-05-2011, 01:45   #338
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

JohnB,

I just tried a bunch of releases from V1 to v4 and can't see a difference but that may be just my old eyes.

Could you produce a couple of charts and send them to me. Please give them different names like V123, V416 so I can flip between them.

Thanks
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2011, 00:14   #339
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Krabi Thailand
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 144
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

This all sounds very interesting, I loaded all the programs. Got ready to run but forgot to start google earth. It started automatically though but when I zoomed in to the area I wanted to overlay in GE my video went haywire and I ended up with the BSOD. Now it is a hardware problem but I am not sure if it was not caused by something in the programs.
__________________
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 02:01   #340
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Jubilee39,

What a BSOD?

You might try changing the graphics mode in Google Earth... Tools..Options..3DView..Graphics Mode, then restart GE. Maybe the current one is too much for your video card.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 02:15   #341
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 816
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Jubilee39,

What a BSOD?
.
Phiggins, you must be very young...
Window's feared Blue Screen of Death...

BTW, GE2KAP is a real gem. I've been making a number of overlay charts recently without a hitch...

Many many thanks (to Pavel also for integrating it with OpenCpn)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	236.3 KB
ID:	28002  
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2011, 02:23   #342
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

NEW VERSION: V5.0.0 - NO PREREQS

I've just uploaded a new version of GE2KAP that does not require any prereqs. Well you still need OOREXX, but you do not need to install ImageMagick, Tif2BSB or BSB2tif. The functions performed by these programs has been implemented in the GE2KAPFuncs.DLL.

The new version is faster than V4 and I think the quality of the images produced is better. Let me know what you think.

Please try it out at www.gdayii.ca\Downloads - GE2KAP


Acknowledgments
--------------
I would like to thank the following who have provided me code that is used in GE2KAP:
Davide Pizzolato for his CXIMAGE Class that I used to replace the ImageMagick functions.
Mark Miesfeld of the OOREXX development team that provided the code I use to type into the Google earth and OpenCPN windows.
Stuart Cunningham and Anuradha Suraparaju for the libbsb code: tif2bsb and bsb2tif code.
Also, i would like to thank all the users who have tested my code.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2011, 06:17   #343
Senior Cruiser
 
sailorF54's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Perros-Guirec, France
Boat: Jeanneau Sunshine 36
Posts: 816
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Both independent GE overlays on marine charts and plain GE snapshots within OpenCpn seems OK.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Oban.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	159.3 KB
ID:	28744  
__________________
sailorF54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2011, 11:34   #344
Registered User
 
phiggins's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,277
Send a message via Skype™ to phiggins
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Thanks SailorF54.

Tore has discovered that V5 is still dependent on ImageMagick to View Chart. I forgot that I issue imdisplay.exe to display the chart.

I will have to discover another way to dispplay the chart.
__________________
Paul,
" One moment you are running along, the next you are no more." Dean Spanley
phiggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-06-2011, 13:25   #345
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Krabi Thailand
Boat: Corbin Ketch 39ft
Posts: 144
Re: Google Earth to BSB / KAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by phiggins View Post
Jubilee39,

What a BSOD?

You might try changing the graphics mode in Google Earth... Tools..Options..3DView..Graphics Mode, then restart GE. Maybe the current one is too much for your video card.
The problem was hardware, Dell laptop Nvidia graphics. Found and interesting fix on internet. Removed the card and baked it in the oven on hi for ten minutes. Problem solved.
__________________

__________________
Jubilee39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bsb, google earth, paracelle

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Earth ? phiggins Navigation 53 31-03-2012 20:39
Turkey Blocks Google Earth & Google Maps MarkJ Europe & Mediterranean 7 04-07-2010 12:30
Google Earth Sailing... Grasshopper Navigation 21 28-09-2009 11:02
Google Earth as an aid to navigation cat man do Navigation 9 01-05-2008 17:48


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:38.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.