Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-04-2013, 13:33   #16
Registered User
 
VirtualVagabond's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Boat: CT 54... for our sins!
Posts: 2,084
Re: Getting AIS and Open CPN to play nice.

Thanks All

Just sailed, all sails flying and hit 8.4 kts a few times, from Patuxent River to Norfolk.
AIS and Open CPN played beautifully together. Now I just need to work out how to set some audibly alerts.

Unfortunately not all was plain sailing , and at times we had to motor.

But we are here and our next weather window is shaping up to be Wednesday.

Vic
__________________

__________________
One must live the way one thinks, or end up thinking the way one lives - Paul Bourget

www.windwanderer.weebly.com
VirtualVagabond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-04-2013, 16:00   #17
Senior Cruiser
 
Jim Cate's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2008
Location: cruising SW Pacific
Boat: Jon Sayer 1-off 46 ft fract rig sloop strip plank in W Red Cedar
Posts: 11,450
Re: Getting AIS and Open CPN to play nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VirtualVagabond View Post
Thanks All

Just sailed, all sails flying and hit 8.4 kts a few times, from Patuxent River to Norfolk.
AIS and Open CPN played beautifully together. Now I just need to work out how to set some audibly alerts.

Unfortunately not all was plain sailing , and at times we had to motor.

But we are here and our next weather window is shaping up to be Wednesday.

Vic
Way to go, Vic! Well done...

Jim
__________________

__________________
Jim and Ann s/v Insatiable II , lying Port Cygnet, Tasmania once again
Jim Cate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-08-2013, 16:59   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Myrtle Beach SC
Boat: Downeaster 38 / Beneteau F235
Posts: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to audeojude
Re: Getting AIS and Open CPN to play nice.

I just installed the B100 with its sister antenna splitter unit and it is working great with OpenCPN on Ubuntu 12.10 Linux. I configured the baud rate at 9600 as that is what windows assigned the usb port that was setup when you plug the ais unit in with the included USB cable. The port under Linux that my system assigned it is ttyACM0
__________________

__________________
audeojude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.