Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-07-2015, 05:29   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Furuno and disappearing AIS targets

We have a Furuno Navnet 3D MFD8 chartplotter. We have just put in an Garmin 600 AIS, NBF3 Nmea buffer and now not only does the chartplotter take a looong time to load but as we are travelling the AIS targets disappear from the screen(this can happen several times throughout a day of travel). Most times we have to shut the system down and reboot in order to get the AIS targets back.

Any suggestions? Thank you, in advance.
midgeandmichele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2015, 17:27   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 3,289
Re: Furuno and disappearing AIS targets

Did you remove your old AIS receiver? In other words, do you have 2 devices adding AIS receive targets to the NMEA stream? The Navnet3D only takes AIS targets from the 0183 data stream, not from NMEA2000 stream.
Paul L
Paul L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2015, 06:35   #3
Senior Cruiser
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,043
Images: 12
Re: Furuno and disappearing AIS targets

The NN3D takes a looong time to load regardless of anything connected to it.

We once or twice had AIS targets disappear from ours too, but they always came back after a while. It has concerned us, but it has only happened so rarely.

Also keep in mind that there is a maximum distance in which the NN3D will display targets. If those targets move outside that distance, they disappear. Instantly.

This distance is user-variable, so you might want to check in the menu section that yours is not set unusually close.

If it isn't any of the above, did you try resetting the AIS instead of the NN3D? It may be possible that there is an NMEA error occurring in the AIS output.

Also, make sure that the AIS NMEA 0183 input is selected in the setup menu, and that ONLY the AIS checkbox is checked (and it is set to 38400 baud).


You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote

ais, furuno

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPA and TCPA of RADAR targets not equipped with AIS Alby1714 Marine Electronics 15 15-05-2015 07:22
AIS Class B targets cagney OpenCPN 64 22-10-2014 05:43
AIS Targets not visible hcolvin1 OpenCPN 13 06-11-2013 08:32
AIS targets but no position? Oceansailor OpenCPN 0 10-05-2012 12:29
AIS Targets Disappear After a Longer Period sinbad7 OpenCPN 86 30-04-2012 09:18

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.