Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-09-2011, 09:10   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Echo Sounder Goes Blank when Needed Most

I have a NASA echo sounder that works fine in deep water but at less than 3.5m the screen goes blank. I've tried changing the battery and the oil around the transducer but the previous owner of the boat says its always been like that. Has anyone else experienced this and/or found a fix?
__________________

__________________
Oldgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:26   #2
Registered User
 
Lowcountry's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Charleston SC
Boat: 1988 Mason 44
Posts: 371
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

mine does just the opposite. it works great up to about 100 feet, and then it just flashes randomly after that.
__________________

__________________
Lowcountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:26   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Oldgeezer.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:34   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
hummingway's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gabriola Island & Victoria, British Columbia
Boat: Cooper 416 Honeysuckle
Posts: 6,933
Images: 5
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oldgeezer View Post
I have a NASA echo sounder that works fine in deep water but at less than 3.5m the screen goes blank. I've tried changing the battery and the oil around the transducer but the previous owner of the boat says its always been like that. Has anyone else experienced this and/or found a fix?
Can you change the range?
__________________
“We are the universe contemplating itself” - Carl Sagan

hummingway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:35   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

interesting -sounds like it might somehow be possible to have either deep readings - or shallow readings, but too much to ask for both extremes?
__________________
Oldgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:37   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

I presume that you have the Manual:
http://www.nasamarine.com/images/fil...%20Sounder.pdf

You could Email Nasa Marine info@nasamarine.com

Or a Dealer ➥
Nasa Marine Instruments Limited
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:38   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

I'm not aware of any ability to change range setting - but I've never had any instructions.
__________________
Oldgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:40   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

See the Manual:
http://www.nasamarine.com/images/fil...%20Sounder.pdf
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:48   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Re: Echo sounder goes blank when needed most

Many thanks for that - the one I have is a basic 13yr old NASA "Target" unit which just has a "set" button and alarm up and down buttons. I havent managed to find any instructions for it on line.
__________________
Oldgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 09:59   #10
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,577
Images: 240
Re: Echo Sounder Goes Blank when Needed Most

The following Manual is for the Target 2 Depth
http://www.nasamarine.com/pdfs/Targe...20+%20Wind.pdf
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Target2 Depth.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	32078  
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 10:18   #11
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,347
Re: Echo Sounder Goes Blank when Needed Most

I've had one that would be blank or intermittant often in shallow water. Nerve racking when you're in really shallow waters! If I remember right it was installed thru hull and any algae etc on the face of the sender would cause the problem. Not sure why so much in shallow water though. I've often wondered why the metal in bottom paint doesnt effect an inside mounted unit....? or does it!
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 10:21   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 5
Re: Echo Sounder Goes Blank when Needed Most

Its a different unit to mine but nevertheless it details how to alter a sensitivity setting - so I'm optimistic about it resolving the problems experienced by both me and Lowcountry. Many many thanks.
__________________
Oldgeezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-09-2011, 10:34   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
hummingway's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Gabriola Island & Victoria, British Columbia
Boat: Cooper 416 Honeysuckle
Posts: 6,933
Images: 5
Re: Echo Sounder Goes Blank when Needed Most

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheechako View Post
I've had one that would be blank or intermittant often in shallow water. Nerve racking when you're in really shallow waters! If I remember right it was installed thru hull and any algae etc on the face of the sender would cause the problem. Not sure why so much in shallow water though. I've often wondered why the metal in bottom paint doesnt effect an inside mounted unit....? or does it!
Metal carries sound waves quite well. I imagine ferrocement doesn't though.
__________________

__________________
“We are the universe contemplating itself” - Carl Sagan

hummingway is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Le Havre (or Dunkerque), France to Mediterranean, Help Needed Kimmo Europe & Mediterranean 16 22-07-2011 04:38



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:47.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.