Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-09-2006, 04:28   #1

Question Celestial Navigation Help Needed

Hello all, I am new to the Cruisers Forum.

I am trying to teach myself Celestial Navigation for that SOMEDAY cruise.

I have read several books, Celestial Navigation for Yachtsman, and the Complete Onboard Celestial Navigator. BUT, obviously my thick skull will not let the information into the brain matter department.

Yesterday I took a sun sight using a ARTIFICAL HORIZON and got the following readings:

Sun Fix LL
lat 39.52N lon 75.08W (using my GPS)
7 sept 2006
Time 13 22 29 UTC
Local 09 22 29
Sextant Reading 61 deg 28'
Observed reading 30 deg 44' (above halved)
No Index error
No dip
Altitude correction +14 deg 40'

For a corrected sight of 44 deg 48'

My sight reduction tells me I am about 800 miles from where I am

What the heck am I doing wrong?????????????????

Thanks in advance and Smooth Sailing

Bill
Loose Ends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 04:50   #2

Boat: Westerly 33, Dunkers of Tintern
With an error this big you could be using the wrong time zone. All times should be in GMT. Perhaps you did the conversion from your local time zone to GMT incorrectly - its an easy error to make.

Hope this helps
Dunkers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 04:51   #3

I think I just found my own problem, I added 14 degrees 4 min instead of 14.4 minutes. DUH. Man thsi forum is good!!!!!
Old 11-09-2006, 00:46   #4

Boat: Privilege 37
I would be a little suspicious of a zero index error unless you have a very expensive sextant. and you indicate 0 dip, was the sextant on the waterline?
Old 11-09-2006, 06:40   #5

Boat: Beneteau First 42
What artificial horizon?