Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 10-05-2016, 06:40   #1

Autopilots... Why are they so finicky, expensive?

I am a total noob, so please bear with me...

I am looking at different systems on a boat, and the autopilots seem to be a source of huge contention.

Anyhow, not having any hands on, why couldn't an autopilot just be a stepper motor, driven by an Ardinuo plugged into OpenCPN, with seemingly a tiny amount of connecting software bits. A few safety protocols, like turn into the wind if the boat heels outside of some error bars, with a switch to figure between wind heading, or compass heading.

Why are these devices that cost thousands of dollars? The exception being the Tillerpilot line of products, but even then, those seem priced way out of proportion to what they are.

I mean, with a $60 stepper motor, I could twist your arm right off, with just a little bit of mechanical advantage.

Old 10-05-2016, 06:55   #2
cat herder, extreme blacksheep

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Autopilots... Why are they so finicky, expensive?

most folks use a cheapo wheel mounted unit that doesnt really do the job, especially in brisk winds.
i managed to find a boat with a quadrant mounted burly autopilot, hydraulic, that actually keeps a course.
it was 15000 usd installed, and has fluxgate compasses and other lovelies that are not had with wheel mounted units.
you CAN use lines to tie of your wheel/tiller, that has been done most successfully in past by others. this method requires diligence.
good luck in your search for the ultimate otto pile it. i have that.
of course, as itis a sailboat, you can also go the windvane route--and i have seen those successfully made very cheaply of wood, on the beach near the mooring i used to use.......

zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2016, 07:26   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Pearson 422