Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-06-2014, 10:47   #1

Boat: Tartan 40
Advice for ICW/Caribbean Trip?

Hello Cruisersforum!
In September, I will be heading down the ICW to the Bahamas/Caribbean with my girlfriend…it will be the start to a year (or two) off. I’m looking for guidance from the vast knowledge on this board – What do I need to know? What am I missing? I’ve done quite a lot of homework, but would like to get some input from the forum.

First let me tell you a bit about me: I'm 30, currently own a Catalina 27 (9.9hp outboard) and live in Vancouver BC. I’ve been sailing here for 5 years, and have done many 2-3 week trips around here (Desolation Sound, Princess Louisa, Gulf Islands, etc.) with my amazing girlfriend (slash “admiral”). We’re an awesome team and she’s a great sailor…that said, we haven’t seen much rough weather (no more than 15-20 knots with 5-6 foot waves in the Georgia Strait), but have a lot of experience sailing, anchoring, provisioning, etc.

I’m selling this boat and will be moving onto a Tartan 40 in Lake Erie to start this trip down the ICW. We’re planning the more-or-less standard route: Leaving early September, through the Erie Canal, down the Hudson River, cruise Chesapeake Bay until November, down the ICW to Miami, then across to the Bahamas and beyond! The boat has less than 5’ draft (retractable CB), and meets the bridge clearance requirement of 63’…so should be all good there.

Here are my concerns:
  • Boat size. Any suggestions for taking the leap to 40'? So much for 2-foot-itis..
  • Systems. The Tartan has many more systems than my ol' Catalina - What should I learn about first?