Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-12-2009, 12:49   #1

Boat: Beneteau 49 - WAKADUI
Lewmar Wireless Remote

Anyone familiar with Lewmar's 5-button wireless remote for bow thruster and windlass? West Marine web site had some harsh words from buyers of the product: range of antenna was poor, buttons on FOB stick. Was also wondering if install is something a DIY boater could do?
Old 13-12-2009, 13:29   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wakadui View Post
... wondering if install is something a DIY boater could do?
I've no experience with, nor opinion of, the Lewmar remote controls.

The Lewmar 3-Button & 5-Button windlass/thruster wireless remote can be used on any windlass/thruster that is operated via a solenoid or relay. The wireless remote is simply wired in parallel with the standard switch.

GordMay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2009, 15:44   #3

The reports of poor antenna function concerns me. The wired remote for my Beneteau 49 Lewmar bow thruster sits at the starboard helm, approx 45 feet from bow. If I were to exit the boat (stern dock line secured of course) and walked the dock to the bow with bow thruster wireless remote in hand to retrieve the starboard bow dock line, would the wireless signal reach the remote antenna approx 50 feet away?
Old 13-12-2009, 16:58   #4

Boat: sold Now motor cruiser
wired a unit intended for remote garage door & found that good for $100.00 outlay. If any of the radio units are being used on metal boats the receiver aerial would have to be considered.
Bill
bill good is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2010, 10:51   #5

I just bought a Lewmar 68000844 wireless remote.