Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-03-2013, 09:08   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 37
Posts: 37
How do you mark your anchor rode?

I have a combination 30' 5/16" G43 Chain - 270' 9/16" 8 Plait anchor rode. I don't use all chain as my anchoring grounds are typically mud/sand/weeds with no rocks or coral and I do not have a windlass (yet!) on my Dana 24.

I'm wondering what techniques people use to mark their rode? I've seen plastic chain markers (or just painted links on chain), but given that I only have 30' chain marking that isn't necessary. I'm looking for the best approach to mark the 8 plait. Do you use the plastic flags that fit between the strands (does that even work with 8 plait)? Do you color the road at intervals with a urethane pigment? If so, how do you color code the line?

I obviously do not have a chain/rode counter and am looking for more crude solutions. Thanks!
__________________

flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 09:27   #2
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,619
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Flash, paint will quickly wear off, wire tiers will break off and paint can't be seen in the dark. we have used a simple method that last for many years and can be determined by both sight and feel. Here is a blog post with a photo, The Trawler Beach House: More Marine Trader Makeovers . If you ever add a windlass these will pass through the windlass with no problem. Chuck
__________________

__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 23:16   #3
Registered User
 
Snowpetrel's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hobart
Boat: Alloy Peterson 40
Posts: 3,890
I had webbing tags stiched on the chain. Red for 10m, then white, then blue. Repeating after 30 meters. They have lasted fine for 10 years and go through an electric windlass fine.
__________________
My Ramblings
Snowpetrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2013, 23:34   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,016
Images: 4
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

No marking. It's very close to three turns per meter on the gypsy (foot per turn). Or a second per turn if I'm not watching.
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 00:38   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,441
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

I haven't tried it with octoplait, but you should be able to tuck narrow polyester webbing (which seems to last well, when sewn as tags to chain) through the lay of the rope and then stitch it back to itself.

Use dark colours to contrast with the rope, and leave one leg of the tag long, like at least an inch, so you can feel it in the dark as the chain runs out.
Andrew Troup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 01:16   #6
Registered User
 
four winds's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Wandering the US Gulf Coast
Boat: 78 Pearson323 Four Winds
Posts: 2,205
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

I've used these vinyl markers for a couple of years, and they work fine for me.

Open up the three strand and slide them through.

WEST MARINE Anchor Rode Markers at West Marine
__________________
Life begins at the waters edge.
four winds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 05:49   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hudson Valley N.Y.
Boat: contessa 32
Posts: 826
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Ok this is thread drift, but a windlass on a 24 foot boat? Hardly seems necessary, besides where are you going to mount the cannon?
mrohr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 06:17   #8
Registered User
 
Cormorant's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Catskill Mountains when not cruising
Boat: 31' homebuilt Michalak-designed Cormorant "Sea Fever"
Posts: 2,100
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Similar to Waterwayguy and Snowpetrel, we have cloth tags sewn onto our rode. I used 4 oz. sailcloth sewn with V-92 sailmaker's thread. The sailcloth is soft enough that when you're hauling your rode hand-over-hand you don't need to avoid the tags.

Since we don't have a depth sounder, and I often want to plumb the depth of our anchorage, I have the first 30 feet marked out in small increments (6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 20, 25, 30), then at 10-foot increments. Just indelible marker on the cloth, which so far has lasted a couple of years just fine.

Not a system that works in complete darkness, but I figure if it comes to that, I do have a headlamp.
Cormorant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 06:49   #9
Registered User
 
denverd0n's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,203
Images: 6
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrohr View Post
Ok this is thread drift, but a windlass on a 24 foot boat? Hardly seems necessary...
Perhaps you are unfamiliar with the Dana 24. It's not your typical 24 foot trailer sailor--displacement close to 4 tons.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 07:15   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2009
Boat: Nassau 42 SV Ceol Mor
Posts: 789
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

The most complicated method ever. Our Life with Ceol Mor: I'll Mark Your Chain Mister!
As much as it pains me to admit it, it actually works quite well and the ties hold up much better than I anticipated.
__________________
S/V Ceol Mor
42 Nassau Undergoing refit in Kemah, Tx
Our little blog has moved: www.theceolmors.blogspot.com
Mimsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 07:43   #11
Registered User
 
denverd0n's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 4,203
Images: 6
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mimsy View Post
The most complicated method ever.
Maybe my brain just works like his. In any case, this seems to me simple, ingenious, and extremely effective.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 07:57   #12
Registered User
 
Cotemar's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2007
Boat: Mahe 36, Helia 44 Evo, MY 37
Posts: 5,766
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

The simplest method for marking 8 Plait anchor rode that is going to be used hand over hand is Zip Ties threaded through the line. Simple, cheap, easy and accurate

No rocket science needed here, just a simple solution
Cotemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 08:03   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 37
Posts: 37
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Wow, that's really clever. If I ever get an all chain rode...
flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 08:05   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Boat: Pacific Seacraft 37
Posts: 37
Re: How do you mark your anchor rode?

Well, she weighs 8000lbs. I have 33lb Spade, 30 feet of 5/16" chain, rode, we're talking over 60lbs to lift by hand which is doable but can get tiresome. It's not unusual to mount a windlass on this boat.
flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-2013, 08:06   #15
Registered User
 
Jimbo485's Avatar

Join Date: May 2010
Location: some ocean down under
Boat: Kelsall Suncat 40
Posts: 1,247
The rode, chain and rope, has colour coded wire ties every 10 m. Each spot has 3 of them. I replace 2 or 3 individual wire ties each year.
__________________

__________________

Jimbo485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
anchor, rode

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.