Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Anchoring & Mooring
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-05-2017, 08:51   #1

Boat: Chrysler 26, swing keel
Attaching nylon rode to deck... How?

Just completed our new home made (SUPER HEAVY DUTY!!!! I'm a prototype designer/fabricator by trade), bow roller and will be installing a manual anchorman windlass.

We have 40' of 5/16" HT G4 chain with 150' of 1/2" 8-plait nylon rode. 25# Mantus with Mantus swivel. Our boat is a Chrysler 26' swing keel.

I've read SO MANY threads about NOT fixing the bitter end of the rode to the windlass as our end point. Most places we'll be anchoring will have all the chain out with a quite a bit of nylon rode, so snubbing (shock reducing), shouldn't be an issue.

My main concern is where/how to attach nylon line to deck. Will the length of nylon rode out in the water reduce loads to a windlass?

I'm "thinking" of making a bridle to go to both bow cleats and using a prussic/clinch knot to disperse the load from our anchor line to two cleats. Overall length between rode to cleat would be about 15' (Using dock lines from each and doubling up with both dock lines.)

Since I'm mounting new cleats, I'm wondering about mounting them canted inward towards the bow roller and dispersing the strain from the rode to the cleats, on deck... (Not sure if I like that because for mooring buoys, I'd like the cleats to mounted parallel to these lines as they lead out forward, over the side (with chafe guards), to the buoy.