Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-05-2009, 19:21   #1

Total Newb Dinghy Question

I have a question which I am almost embarrassed to ask, but here goes anyway. What do people do with their dinghies at night when they are anchored? I understand that if you have davits you can just raise it out of the water, but I anticipate having a windvane and I am not sure if I could have a davit system. Can you just leave the dink tied to the stern or will it bang against the hull?

Also, if I am in a marina and moored, does this make a difference. I can't envision being allowed to have the dink float behind the boat in a confined area like a marina.

For what it is worth, I think I will end up going the portabote route. I don't like the idea of inflatables since I would prefer to row vs motor, and I will need something collapsible since my boat will be of the pocket cruiser variety. It seems like an inflatable bouncing against the hull wouldn't be a big deal, but obviously I don't want rigid dinghy bouncing against my boat.

Thanks for the help guys.

-Jake
somasized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-05-2009, 19:30   #2

Boat: Portobello - a Walter Knoop designed "DOVEN 30"
I just leave my dinghy tied to the back of the boat - if there is a bit of wind it tends to hang away - if there is no wind there seems to be no issue with it banging against the boat. I have a fairly long painter and a soft bumper strip around the gunwales of the dinghy - that might help.
Old 13-05-2009, 19:37   #3

Boat: Tayana 37- Victoria Rose