Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Auxiliary Equipment & Dinghy
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2016, 02:42   #1

Inflatable Kayak instead of Dinghy and Outboard engine

Hallo

I bought a used 36` Sailboat and want to cruise the mediterranean.
It is an ex-charter boat and comes with a small dinghy plus outboard engine.
I have some charter experience but still lack experience in cruising that I will hopefully gather in the next time.

As I like to keep it as simple as possible I would like to get rid of it, because I never know where to store it and also I dont like the fact of dealing with gasoline.

My question is not whether you need a dinghy or not (Of corse I do not always want to swim ashore) but our crew is young and healthy so I feel that I could substitute the engine powered dinghy with a good quality inflatable kayak for shore excursions and provisioning.

The only thing that concerns me is whether I should keep the dinghy for security reasons.

1) Are there certain situations, like bringing out a second anchor in windy conditions, that would require an engine powered dinghy and cannot be managed by a rowing kayak?

2) Did anyone ever really use the dinghy to train the boat in case of main engine failure and therefore considers the small outboard engine as a must have? this seems rather theoretical to me.

3) Any other reasons to keep the dinghy?

Thank you very much
vw1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2016, 03:58   #2

Boat: ‘01 Catana 401
Re: Inflatable Kayak instead of Dinghy and Outboard engine