Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2009, 08:29   #1

Boat: Islander 36
Tabernacle mast- love and hate

I'd like to hear from those on both sides of the subject. I have a friend looking at a boat with one and I have no experience with them. Besides going under low bridges (never been a issue I've had to deal with), how often do you drop the mast? I like the idea for dry storage in hurricane prone areas. Can you get around having to climb the mast to do work on top, or it not worth it?
Old 19-02-2009, 10:00   #2

Boat: custom built 47' wooden trawler yacht
Send a message via Skype™ to quidam
I think that a tabernacle on a modern sloop over 25' would'nt make much sense. On such a rig you will probably have to remove the sail and boom, making it alot of work just to go under a bridge. Also with the mast being so tall, you would have to disconnect it from the tabernacle because it would be sticking out two far to travel much on the inland waterways. It would also be difficult to lower such a long spar from deck. However for a boat like the Amphora (you can see pics of her rig in my albums), that I rigged as a gaff ketch motorsailer with both spars on tabernacles, they are great. On one trip north we lowered the mast on the Hudson, raised them when we got to Oswego, had a great sail across Lake Ontario (yes she would sail off the wind), and lowered them the next day to go into the Trent-Severn waterway. I designed the rig so that I did not have to remove the mainsail, gaff and boom to lower the main, and It could all be lowered from deck.

That type of elitist thinking has ballooned the cost of boats, and cruising , far beyond what it need be, and beyond the reach of too many low income cruisers, for no benefit. --Brent Swain
quidam is offline   Reply With Quote