Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2013, 07:52   #1

Boat: 1983 Catalina 22
Storing a sail boat on a boat lift okay?

I keep my 23 ft Sea Hunt on a boat lift, with an 11,000 lb rating. I'd like to be able to store a 22-24 ft monohull trailer/cruiser on this same lift, and keep the motor boat in the back yard since it is a lot easier to take to the ramp and launch than a sail boat. The thing is, I haven't seen many sail boats on lifts. If anyone could comment on this, I'd sure appreciate the benefit of your knowledge as I am totally new to sailing. Is this idea okay, or am I totally off track here?
Divensail88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 08:06   #2

Re: Storing a sail boat on a boat lift okay?

I see small sailboats on lifts all the time. Occasionally see large sailboats on lifts too.
Old 10-05-2013, 08:08   #3

Boat: Seaward 22

my 22' sailboat is on a lift. the lift company used my trailer to mock up the lift supports. works great and always have a clean bottom.
ohdrinkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2013, 10:21   #4

Well, you won't see "many" sailboats on lifts, but there are still plenty of them out there. I see them pretty regularly around Tampa Bay. A while back I saw an O'Day 37 up on a lift.
denverd0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 01:58   #5

Thanks, maties. Just what I needed to know.
Old 11-05-2013, 06:32   #6

Boat: IP 40