Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-06-2012, 18:57   #1
Formerly: Capt Wraun

Boat: Corbin39 CC Cutter Rig
Slippery Winches

Howdy folks! I was wondering if anyone could advise on what to do about a couple of old Barlow winches that have lost their grip. The sheets slip way to easy rendering the winches pretty much useless.
Can a person have the drums knurled or is there a product to apply to the drum to give them a little grip?
I'd hate to have to replace them because a) they're big and expensive and b) they work well otherwise.

Thanks in advance
Old 28-06-2012, 19:53   #2

Boat: Pearson 365 Sloop and 9' Fatty Knees.
Re: Slippery Winches

Hey Cappy...I'm a Machinist. To answer your question...yes...they can be knurled. It is easiest if it's not tapered. But if it is, not impossible. If you could...be there when they knurl to get your desired texture. Too much and you'll eat sheets.
Another way would be to sand blast or glass bead. I'm assuming these are bronze without chrome plating or plating that is otherwise gone. Hope this helps.
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well-preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming: Wow - what a ride!"
Celestialsailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2012, 07:37   #3

Thanks CS, They are chrome plated but ya, the plating is almost gone. I'll look into which of those options might be available locally here.

Cheers!
Old 29-06-2012, 07:55   #4
cruiser

there is some spray stuff that is used on fan belts to help with slip.. I am not sure if that could be used on winches or not, or at least for a stop gap measure until you can get the winches fixed...
sailinman is offline   Reply With Quote