Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2014, 16:31   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Replacing wire halyards with line on Columbia 26 MKII

I'm thinking about changing both my main and jib halyard to line from the original wire/line mix. I'm thinking about replacing them with 5/16" line. Does anyone know if the sheaves at the mast head will take 5/16" line?

Thanks.

1971 Columbia 26 MKII
__________________

__________________
bll30148 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 22:13   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
roverhi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Kona, Hawaii, Carlsbad, CA
Boat: 1969 Pearson 35 #108 & 1976 Sabre 28
Posts: 6,006
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Re: Replacing wire halyards with line on Columbia 26 MKII

If you have wire spliced to line for your current halyards, the sheaves will handle whatever line the the existing halyard is. Boat with spliced line/wire halyards had dual purpose sheaves with an inner groove for the wire and an outer groove for line. Sailed thousands of miles with rope in these sheaves.
__________________

__________________
Peter O.
'Ae'a Pearson 35
roverhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2014, 23:11   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Neptune's Gear's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gulf Harbour, New Zealand
Boat: Farr Phase 4, 12.8m
Posts: 992
Re: Replacing wire halyards with line on Columbia 26 MKII

Still worth checking that, if the sheaves are the multi purpose ones, they are in good nic. If not, burrs and damage can destroy a rope halyard.
__________________
Matt Paulin
Neptunes Gear Ltd
www.neptunes-gear.com
Neptune's Gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2014, 18:57   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Southport CT
Boat: J/36
Posts: 377
Re: Replacing wire halyards with line on Columbia 26 MKII

We changed our wire/rope halyards to all line about 12 years ago, without bothering to check the sheaves. No problems whatsoever. Burrs can be fixed with a piece of sandpaper or a file, if there even are any.
__________________
psk125 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-11-2014, 12:40   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: daytona beach florida
Boat: csy 37
Posts: 2,844
Images: 1
Re: Replacing wire halyards with line on Columbia 26 MKII

Check your sheaves. I replaced wire/rope with all rope and it lasted a few months.
__________________
Take two at low eight
onestepcsy37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
columbia, halyard

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing wire mainsail halyard with line pjfsail Construction, Maintenance & Refit 55 20-12-2016 16:29
Replacing Wire Halyards with Dyneema rustypirate Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 21 10-11-2013 20:36
45 yr old mast with internal wire halyards jeanathon Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 11 25-09-2013 10:52
Seizing Nylon Cleats to Wire - Flag halyards, light load-bearing cleats, etc. blahman Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 5 09-02-2009 10:05
Replacing Halyards chicago sailor Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 06-07-2006 15:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:27.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.