Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2012, 14:47   #1
cruiser

Boat: Morgan 33 OutIsland, Magic and 33' offshore scott design "Cutting Edge"
Possible To Convert Hank On Main To Roller Furling?

A friend of mine is considering having me sew on luff tape to convert a hank on main to roller furling. Is this feasible? My gut reaction is the sail won't roll up flat but I have no eXperience with roller mains other than sailing one on occasion. Thanks in advance.
forsailbyowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 15:36   #2

Boat: 1979 Endeavour 44 ketch
Re: Possible To Convert Hank On Main To Roller Furling?

lt would work if he had a battenless main but I doubt that is the case. He would save money if he just bought a new main that is battenless or has vertial battens. Then the conversion would be easy.
MANUIWA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 11:24   #3
Marine Service Provider

This probably won't work for a couple of reasons.

I assume when you say hank on main, you're actually referring to a mainsail that currently has slides or slugs on it.

If that's the case and the sail was a conventional main with battens, you would need to recut the leech to add some hollow. If you're not a sailmaker experienced with using a lofting batten, you probably should turn down the project at this point.

Assuming that's not the case and it's a batten-less main with leech hollow, then we need to be concerned with shape.