Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-08-2009, 07:03   #1

Boat: Hunter 27
New to Sailing and I Have a Problem

I am brand new to sailing and have had only two days of sailing classes. I recently purchased a 27 Hunter from a gentleman who owned the boat for only 3 years and was almost as green as I am. I suppose looking back I should have had him raise the sails to be sure everything was working properly but the boat in general is in excellent condition. However now I have a problem. With the help of a local sailor we attempted to raise the jib on a furling system. We were able to raise however the line in the drum was jammed and we could not fully roll the sail. We ran out of time for the day and he was not sure how to unjam so we hand wrapped the sail and tied it so it would not blow in the wind. Step two I did some online research and found a solution to that problem however after lowing the jib we were then not able to pull the halyard back up. It seems to be catching or is off track at the top of the mast. So we folded and stored the jib and his suggestion is to either hoist my son to the top of the mast to see what is wrong or take to a near by boat yard to have addressed. Anyone have any idea what could have gone wrong and are those my to options? We still haven't unjammed the line in the drum either. I have had the boat for 3 weeks and have yet to sail. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
prissypatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-08-2009, 07:45   #2

Boat: Privilege 37