Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-06-2016, 10:08   #1

Boat: Laguna Yacht 24
how to step my mast?

hello,

This is my first sailboat so I'm totally new to it all so please excuse my newbie question.

I have been trying to step my mast and its just been very difficult. I have a Laguna Yacht 24 and I know the mast can be stepped by a single person but I can't even get it with two people.

can anyone help me out and point me in the direction of some step by step instructions to mast stepping? I don't have any money to spend so buying a stepping system is out.

thanks for all your help and hopefully ill get this mast up and be on the water soon :-)
downshift93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 11:45   #2

Re: how to step my mast?

does it have an attachment point/fulcrum at rear of mast.If so attach it to the base on the deck. both of you lift is and walk towards the mast.(make sure the wires at the back and sides(stays) are connected to the boat. one of you go forward and pull one of the ropes (halyards) that goes to the top or near the top of the mast. Keep on pulling until all of the stays are tight. One of you check that no shackle are caught in an odd position and that all of the stays are free from other stays. The other person comes forward or tie off the halyard somewhere. Connect the forestay or furler to the bow. The most common problem are twist in stays or poorly set shackles. As you're lifting, the mast probably won't fall over as the stays tend to hold it in place at leasr when you're approaching vertical. I bet there's some old codger nearby who's done this a thousand times. One tot of rum and he'll step it himself.
dlymn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-06-2016, 11:53   #3

Boat: 1992 lagoon 42 tpi
Re: how to step my mast?