Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 28-06-2006, 15:25   #1
Moderator Emeritus

Boat: 1976 Sabre 28-2
Send a message via Yahoo to roverhi
Dyform vs type 316 1x19

I'm going to be rerigging my boat and was thinking of using Dyform wire for it's reported low stretch. Thought it was also stronger per diameter but that doesn't seem to be the case. Why would I want to use Dyform vice 316 1x19 since the cost is more than double??

Aloha
Peter O
roverhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 21:27   #2

Boat: VandeStadt IOR 40' - Insatiable
Please note: I am by no means a qualified expert, so take this with a pinch of salt.

It is my understanding that, because Dyform has less stretch than standard 316, it's advantage is in performance. Essentially, using Dyform will make your rig stiffer, so that you will get less deflection in the mast under load (from wind in your sails). Essentially, if your mast remains stiff, your sails remain in their design shape..if your mast deflects, your sail distorts and does not perform as designed (or so your sail-maker will tell you)

I suspect that the difference is not significant enough that you would actually notice the improvement in performance between standard 316 & Dyform (assuming both were well "tuned").

If you are trying to get every last iota of performance out of your boat, and are looking for another 0.1 knots of speed, so that you can win your local championships, but you have already bought a brand new set of D4 sails and replaced everything you can with carbon fibre, you might want to consider using Dyform... otherwise, just stick with standard 316.

But like I said, I'm just shooting the breeze.
Weyalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-06-2006, 21:51   #3

Boat: 15 foot Canoe