Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-07-2007, 18:28   #1

Boat: Wharram Pahi 31, Oh Be Joyful, ohbejoyfuljourney.blogspot.com
do i need a halyard lock

Hi I'm new to sailing and I can't get enough of it. I have a Catalina C15 and I was wondering what is the purpose of the halyard lock. I find it is always catching when I'm raising or lowering the sail and was thinking of trying to get rid of it. Any suggestions of why I should or shouldn't do this. cheers
Chris
Dudeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2007, 19:37   #2

Boat: It’s in French Polynesia now
Hey Dude!

If you had a picture of the lock in question I think we here could come up with some ideas for ya.

They say a picture it worth a thousand words..............._/)
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2007, 02:34   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Excerpted from the “The Mark Eliot C-15 Cookbook Tuning Guide”:
Goto:
C-15 ASSOCIATION: C15 National Association Home Page
Click on "Tuning Tips"

"Here is a short list of the tuning options for boat speed. They are in order of importance.

“1. JIB HALYARD LOCK - You need a Jib Halyards Lock to control mast rake and sail shape
2. MAST RAKE - Set mast rake between 23 feet 6 inches and 23 feet 8 ...

Jib Halyard Lock and Mast Rake