Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-04-2017, 11:34   #1

Boat: Dickerson 37AC
Building a spinnaker crane

Let me first say I'm not a professional or an engineer. Or a welder.

But that doesn't mean I don't like to pretend I am.

I decided to add an asymmetrical spinnaker this year and my uncle, who used to be an engineer at Schaefer told me I needed a spinnaker crane. I looked at the available options and decided to design my own. It's going on my Dickerson 37.

Here's what my masthead looks like. I removed the strut that has the windex and antenna for now. I'll have to cut that and reinstall in sections drilling and tapping into the crane.

Drew up the part a few times in Autodesk Inventor until I was happy with the part and strength. I modeled a 3000# point load on the end of the bail and the deflection was acceptable. Printed it out on card stock and checked it a few times.

I sent the files to be laser cut from 316 stainless by a shop in MI, I think they did a great job, everything fit together perfectly out of the box. I need to add bevels to the ends of where everything fits together and weld it up. I bent some 3/8" 316 rod for the bails.

This was the first version I had done and it was too big so I'm having it redone to my final draft.

I have a bunch of other stainless parts i made for the spinnaker install that I have already welded up. Once I finish the welding on the crane and drill/tap the holes I'm going to passivate the stainless.

It ended up being a little heavier than I wanted but it surely won't break.
sailah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-04-2017, 13:14   #2

Boat: Hylas 49
Re: Building a spinnaker crane

Nicely done! I had my rigger buy 1.5 inch stainless U channel for a crane on my 44. We'll see how it handles the load.