Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-06-2012, 16:07   #1
Registered User
 
Freedom45's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Pacific
Boat: Freedom 45 hull#1
Posts: 177
Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

Anyone replace this lens?
The replacement lens did not come with the black locking ring at the base, am I to assume I can get this ring off the old and slip it over the flange on the new one?
The lens was sheared off by a low flying UFO towing a Manson anchor.....


Muchas Gracias
Chuck
__________________

__________________
I Sail, Therefor I ARRrrr...
Freedom45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 16:28   #2
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,675
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

The larger question is: why bother? Consider this an opportunity to replace with a modern LED tricolor/anchor light, for instance the one from LunaSea. I'm not trying to be a wise guy - it just doesn't seem to be a good idea to spend more money on this technology.
__________________

__________________
CarinaPDX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 16:41   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
reiner's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brisbane
Boat: 39ft Challenger and a 16ft Scruffie " Oma Martha"
Posts: 266
Images: 6
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freedom45 View Post
Anyone replace this lens?
The replacement lens did not come with the black locking ring at the base, am I to assume I can get this ring off the old and slip it over the flange on the new one?
The lens was sheared off by a low flying UFO towing a Manson anchor.....


Muchas Gracias
Chuck
I just pulled min apart. Yes the ring slides off over the top of the unit. I would have thought a new unit comes with a screw ring.
Regarding buying the new LED version I was quoted over $ 400 here in Australia and decided to keep the old setup. I might change the bulb for the anchor light with a LED one.

Cheers
Reiner
__________________
reiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 16:53   #4
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,675
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

The LunaSea unit is available here for under $300 USD; I sourced one for a friend for $235 with a boat show discount back in February. That is about what a new AS unit costs; don't know what the parts go for...
__________________
CarinaPDX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 18:12   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Salish Sea in summer/Puerto Vallarta in the winter - no boat just sun and beaches!
Boat: Ganley 30 Junk
Posts: 91
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

Same thing happened to me during Hurricane Irene last year, although it was a tropical storm by the time it got to our location. I'm still looking for that UFO, and like CarinaPDX, I replaced it with a LED unit. Way less power consumption during night sailing!
__________________
PaulSommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 18:22   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
bstreep's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX/Port Aransas, TX
Boat: 1990 Macintosh 47, "Merlin"
Posts: 2,274
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

Quote:
Originally Posted by reiner View Post
I just pulled min apart. Yes the ring slides off over the top of the unit. I would have thought a new unit comes with a screw ring.
Regarding buying the new LED version I was quoted over $ 400 here in Australia and decided to keep the old setup. I might change the bulb for the anchor light with a LED one.

Cheers
Reiner
Make sure you read AS's warning on using LED lamps in these.

No LED in Aqua Signal 40 Tricolor - Is this Advice Bogus ?

We have LEDs all over the boat. But I'm not putting them at the top of my mast. Yet.
__________________
Bill Streep
San Antonio/Port Aransas, TX
bstreep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 18:26   #7
Registered User
 
Freedom45's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Pacific
Boat: Freedom 45 hull#1
Posts: 177
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

Reiner, is this the same light? the diameter of the base flange is 1/8 in smaller than the cap. I'm thinking the lock ring must stretch over bottom flange...

I already have the led replacement bulbs to upgrade unit..
I got the Dr Led tri unit, tried on bench with lens, colors look fine, tried with white anchor led, can't see red. I think it will work just fine

Thanks
__________________
I Sail, Therefor I ARRrrr...
Freedom45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-06-2012, 19:39   #8
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 1,675
Re: Aqua signal Tri lens replacement

Actually, I said that I bought one for a friend; I have not yet changed to the LunaSea light myself. My plate is full with other jobs. When they are finished I will unstep the mast and put one on, along with a wind instrument and make some other changes. For now I have a Dr. Led tri-color bulb in the top and an all-round white LED for the anchor light. My point was that I don't see the AS unit as worthy of repair, and wouldn't repair mine if it failed (again).
__________________

__________________
CarinaPDX is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:48.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.