Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2007, 03:16   #1
Registered User
 
bottleinamessage's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Part time C.L.O.D in Velcro Beach
Boat: Jeanneau, SO 42.1 "Far Niente"
Posts: 251
water tank guage

My boat has two water tanks. It has a nifty littl flow meter that shows the number of liters used..it can be reset to zero. I've now installed a watermaker but the only way I can tell when the tanks are full is by checking the overflow vent. I've looked in the WM catalog for some sort of a guage but found nothing. It seems to me that some years back I saw an ad for a guage that was applied to the exterior of the tank..Anyone know of a solution? Note..I do not want to cut into the tanks. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
bottleinamessage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 04:05   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,579
Images: 240
Google:
< ultrasonic level gauge >, < non-contact gauge >, or < liquid level gauge >.
__________________

__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 05:31   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Pblais's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Hayes, VA
Boat: Gozzard 36
Posts: 8,700
Images: 15
Send a message via Skype™ to Pblais
Tank Tender uses a thin plastic tube to establish a vertical column of air inside the tank. From the panel you pump to remove all the liquid in the column then it relevels itself to measure the inches in the tank based on the air pressure difference in the tube. The air displaced exterts presure read from a guage. It's up to you to convert inches to the % full. On a regualr shaped tank it's simple but can be calibrated to any shape tank.

There are no wires or electrical connections used on anything. You only have to route the tubing from the meter to the tank. Anything else will require electrical connections and electrcicity to read the guage.
__________________
Paul Blais
s/v Bright Eyes Gozzard 36
37 15.7 N 76 28.9 W
Pblais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2007, 08:24   #4
Registered User
 
Inthewind's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Charlotte harbor, FL
Boat: Morgan OI 414
Posts: 251
What I have that works great is just a see through tube connected to the outlet on the bottom of the tank to above the top of the tank. The exact water level can be seen through the tube. I have water level marks marked on the tube to show me the gallons in the tank.
__________________
Inthewind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydrostatic (kluge) tank level guage Pleiades Engines and Propulsion Systems 5 02-06-2007 23:46
More tank, or water maker? MysticGringo Monohull Sailboats 28 22-12-2006 09:48
Water tank conversion Jentine Construction, Maintenance & Refit 1 23-11-2006 10:03
Leaking Water Tank alanperry Construction, Maintenance & Refit 8 06-08-2006 22:10
Fresh water tank leak lannen Construction, Maintenance & Refit 4 09-10-2003 18:55



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.