Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-04-2019, 06:48   #1

Boat: Hanse 348
Water still backflowing into jabsco manua toilet, not blocked overflow vent

I put up a post last summer, tried some things, but still having issues.

I have a jabsco manual pump toilet on my lagoon 380. It is the twist and lock handle version. Last summer I was having issues, when I would pump out the toilet, water would backflow in. Common cause was joker valve being bad, I replaced that. I also replaced the flapper valve. When water would backflow in, I would find the handle all the way up. However, if I used the twist and lock feature, I noticed no backflow.

I lived with it, and figured I would check things when the boat was on the hard.

Was at the boat yesterday. Took the tube off the vent connector on the holding tank so it was open to the air. While off, also put a snake down through it to the outside. All clear, no blockages.

Pumped out the toilet with the tube off, so clear to the vent. Not a lot of antifreeze in the system right now, but heard it going into the tank and out the hull.

Waiting a bit, heard gurgling noises, watched the pump handle rise and water refill the bowl. Not sure what to do next, except hope for some expert advice here. Oh, one other tip, when replacing the flapper valve at the bottom of the pump assembly, one of the 4 screws holding the pump to the toilet structure doesn't 100% tighten. Someone must have stripped the plastic threads.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190413_132233.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	338.8 KB
ID:	190045  
jbinbi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 07:00   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: Water still backflowing into jabsco manua toilet, not blocked overflow vent