Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 13-04-2010, 06:56   #1

Boat: Beneteau 311
Washing Machines

Seems for a washing machine, we have few options, Splendide or Splendide.

They offer a ventless version WDC7100XCP, which has a cold plate to condense the water vapour.

Is this ventless approach good, or do they tend to fill your boat with condensation?

Tks,
Bill

ctsbillc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 07:11   #2

Boat: 58 Taswell AS
NO! We have the non-vented Spledide and wish we had the vented model. The non-vented model washes fine but doesn't dry the cloths. The drying cycle also uses an extraordinary amount of water. We festoon the boat to dry the washed cloths. I'm assuming the vented model would work better as I have had no experience with that model.
speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 07:22   #3

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Location: Denmark (Winter), Helsinki (Summer); Cruising the Baltic Sea this year!
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
The non-vented condensing dryers use a flow of cold water to cool a condensor. This water is simply dumped. Totally inappropriate on a sailboat.

Besides Splendide, there's Eumenia (or Eudora in some markets). We like ours.

The disadvantage of this one is that the dryer, while not a condensing model, is unventable -- it exhausts the hot, moist air directly into the room. We keep a hatch open nearby but you still get damp air in the boat. It is a minor irritant and inconvenience.

If you don't mind cutting a hole in your doghouse for a vent, you should get a unit with a vented dryer.
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2010, 07:26   #4

Glad I did'nt buy the non-vented.

I'll check out the Eumenia.