Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Plumbing Systems and Fixtures
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2013, 19:50   #1

Troubleshooting air getting into fresh water pump?

Hi,

I have a Jabsco pump. I haven't had any fresh water issues in 5 years, but now - the first time I turned it on this spring - I'm seeing air bubbles in the clear filter on the side of the pump. The pump motor is running fine and manages to push a little stream through the faucet/tap. But it never turns off and appears to be drawing air from somewhere.

I do have an accumulator.

I've never had any issues with fresh water, and as such have no experiencing troubleshooting it. Was wondering if anyone had some basic things I should try first, or guesses as to most likely causes?

Confession - I didn't winterize it properly this year, so I may be the real problem
Old 15-05-2013, 21:12   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Research vessel for a university, retired now.
Re: Troubleshooting air getting into fresh water pump?

Pressurize the suction side with an air compressor hose and listen for air escaping. Where you hear the air escaping you can put soapy water on the area and look for bubbles to confirm your suspicion of where the air leak is located.

Life begins where land ends.
David M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2013, 08:49   #3

Thanks, that is a good tip.

I don't have access to a compressor right now, but I might have a friend with some good lungs.
Old 16-05-2013, 09:05   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Beneteau 473

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtPluck View Post
Thanks, that is a good tip.