Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2017, 16:45   #1
Registered User
 
sabella's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 8
Thru Hull installation

Hi, we have just purchased a Lagoon 42 off the production line. Unfortunately there is no water maker fitted and the factory has said that since she's already completed, they can't add anything to her prior to launch and us taking ownership in Jan next year.

One of our first jobs is to install a water maker, but I believe this will require a haul out to install the necessary thru hull. This seems absolutely ridiculous to me.

Any thoughts on the best solution to this problem?

Many thanks in advance,

Aaron
__________________

__________________
sabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 17:07   #2
Registered User
 
UNCIVILIZED's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Up the mast, looking for clean wind.
Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Posts: 5,583
Re: Thru Hull installation

Find "the right people" to talk to, & use language that they "understand". Even if it means setting things up so that you hire a shipwright to install the plumbing for the thing prior to splashing her. It's not as if a through hull is a tough job, they just need to be done right. About which there's plenty of info on CF, or perhaps one better, Maine Sail.
__________________

__________________

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 17:36   #3
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Bristol RI
Boat: Cape George 31
Posts: 614
Re: Thru Hull installation

You can temporarily plumb into an existing through-hull, though it might take a few T connectors and valves.
__________________
Ben
zartmancruising.com
Benz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 17:50   #4
Registered User
 
UNCIVILIZED's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Up the mast, looking for clean wind.
Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Posts: 5,583
Re: Thru Hull installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Benz View Post
You can temporarily plumb into an existing through-hull, though it might take a few T connectors and valves.
What possible risks might that create for not getting a sufficient supply of water to the watermaker, & or, the other item plumbed into the same line?
__________________

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 13:51   #5
Registered User
 
sabella's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 8
Re: Thru Hull installation

Thanks for your feedback. We're investigating just how to go about getting it done before she hit the water. Cheers, Aaron
__________________
sabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 14:12   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,146
Re: Thru Hull installation

You can tap into an existing intake seacock.

https://www.mauripro.com/mm5/Vetus/i...VTSMAN3G34.jpg

You may need a pre-pump then, depending on diameters and your watermaker design. Ask your watermaker company.

Then build proper fitting at first haul out.

HOWEVER, given the time to lunch I do not understand why you cannot do this between now and launch. I hear what you say but it sounds like someone went bonkers at that company.

Talk them into sense. Sometimes all it takes is wait for the guy who gave you NO to go on a holiday and talk to his colleague at the desk. Likely this one is a YES personality ...

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2017, 14:33   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,155
Re: Thru Hull installation

Close the cockpit drain seacock. Install a Tee in the hose, use that for your watermaker source?
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2017, 08:29   #8
Registered User
 
daletournier's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Seychelles
Boat: Catalina 470
Posts: 1,614
Re: Thru Hull installation

Another option is a rainman watermaker,its portable or can be plumbed in permantenly later on.
__________________
daletournier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2017, 09:20   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Marina del Rey
Boat: Hunter 31
Posts: 387
Re: Thru Hull installation

I use my engine intake thruhull, via a T-connector after the strainer, before the engine raw water pump. Every now and then I start worrying about possible contamination from the engine but then convince myself it is OK. I can run the engine and the watermaker simultaneously, no problem.
__________________
Pizzazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-09-2017, 10:33   #10
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Tellie's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hollywood, Fl.
Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Posts: 3,021
Re: Thru Hull installation

OK, a couple of things. It takes all of 20-30 minutes to install a proper thru hull on the hard. I've seen this done an hour before splashing a boat many times. Not wanting to do it makes no sense as this is one of those easy money jobs the yards usually like and not wanting to do it without question would make me question them. Secondly, there is this misconception in the yachting world that a boat needs to be hauled for a thru hull to be installed. Not so, what do you think happens to a 200+' yacht that needs one? They don't do a $15,000 haul out for a few hundred dollar thru hull. They are done in the water all the time. Sharing an existing thru hull can work on smaller systems. Nix the engine intake, this is bad karma waiting to happen.
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2017, 02:22   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Location: Dubai
Boat: 450S
Posts: 97
Re: Thru Hull installation

Lagoon uses third party yards to rig and launch your boat, at least mine was. The yard will do what ever you want for a fee of course. Your dealer should be able to direct you to the correct yard. I wouldn't tap into other thru hulls, a compromise with too much downside.
__________________
Pascals Wager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2017, 10:12   #12
Registered User
 
Terra Nova's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Marina del Rey, California
Boat: Freya 39 cutter- Terra Nova
Posts: 3,604
Re: Thru Hull installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheechako View Post
Close the cockpit drain seacock. Install a Tee in the hose...
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
You can tap into an existing intake seacock....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benz View Post
You can temporarily plumb into an existing through-hull...
Very bad tech.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tellie View Post
...It takes all of 20-30 minutes to install a proper thru hull on the hard...
Not on a cored hull with no hard spot.
__________________
1st rule of yachting: When a collision is unavoidable, aim for something cheap.
"whatever spare parts you bring, you'll never need"--goboatingnow
"Id rather drown than have computers take over my life."--d design
Terra Nova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2017, 10:46   #13
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,146
Re: Thru Hull installation

It could be bad tech if the thru-hull is a small dia one while the devices needing water have bigger needs.

It is actually 100% correct and very common on bigger boats to see one thru-hull feeding many pieces of equipment via manifolds.

Example: Oysters. We had two - one fore, one midships. Model 72.

Cheers,
b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-09-2017, 14:16   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 333
Re: Thru Hull installation

Who is the manufacture of the pictured part? I made something similar using shed 40 pvc as a proof of concept. One 2 inch threwhull for the entire boat. Works ok for generator and main engine and ONE AC unit. Did not work for running 2 AC's. With two units running air was drawn threw one of the units, killing the flow. One ac pump for both AC units would probably solve the problem. I have yet to install the water maker but will have to be careful getting any air in that pump!
__________________
brantleychuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-2017, 04:24   #15
Registered User
 
sabella's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Boat: Lagoon 42
Posts: 8
Re: Thru Hull installation

Thanks to all for your replies. Great info.

It turns out we misunderstood Lagoon's intent. We can't get any more mods done by them, but prior to launch (but after she's our) we can certainly get thru hulls installed.

For what it's worth we chose an EchoTec DML 260 water maker - simple and reliable by the sound of it. Can't wait to see it.

Cheers again
__________________

__________________
sabella is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hull, installation, thru hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thru Hull and Seacock Installation Aslan Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 11 22-02-2015 12:44
Fitting thru hull to uneven hull zboss Construction, Maintenance & Refit 12 16-09-2013 06:54
Exhaust: Thru Hull? Not Thru Hull? steel Powered Boats 12 18-10-2012 21:14
Replace depth transducer cored hull - r&r thru with in hull? rpeebles Marine Electronics 5 11-04-2012 11:58
Garmin 'In-Hull' vs 'Thru-Hull' Transducers La Bras D'or Navigation 24 23-09-2009 07:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:35.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.