Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-02-2016, 09:42   #1

Boat: Catalina 22
Stick-on Holding Tank Level Sensor

HOLDING TANK LEVEL SENSOR; As a hobby (I am a retired radar scientist), I am trying to invent a radar based stick-on battery powered (1 yr) holding tank level sensor with a Bluetooth smartphone readout). If you have interest or have ideas for features, submit a comment.
Holding Tank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 10:35   #2
Marine Service Provider

Re: STICK-ON HOLDING TANK LEVEL SENSOR

Not to rain your idea, just some "points to ponder"....

I can't see any advantage to a battery powered sender over already available systems that use external senders that connect to the vessel's DC power supply and draw only milliamps.

The industry warns against using battery powered household CO detectors instead of marine versions designed to be "hardwired" to the boat's power supply because people are too prone to forget to replace batteries in devices that are readily accessible--also highly visible--in the cabin. it's even more unlikely that they'd remember to replace batteries on a tank that's out of sight/out of mind in the bilge or under a settee or berth.

However, IMO an add-on to existing systems--perhaps those with internal probes as well as external senders--but one that wouldn't require its own battery, that would allow the level in the tank to be checked via a cell phone app would be very cool and something tank level mfrs would jump on.

Just my $.02 worth...
peghall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2016, 10:47   #3
Moderator Emeritus

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Island Packet 38

If it works, cost less than maybe $200 I'm all over one.