Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 14-01-2020, 09:02   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Spectra Cape Horn Extreme 330

We have had to go to one pump making 10gph with a pressure of 80psi. If we turn on 2 pumps it jumps to 120ish and trips the high pressure on one pump. The water is clear can see bottom in 10 feet the temp is around 70f. Is this normal operation for 70f water?
__________________

PLANET EXPRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2020, 16:33   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Re: Spectra Cape Horn Extreme 330

Thanks for all the help thought I could find some here I guess not.
__________________

PLANET EXPRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-01-2020, 21:41   #3
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Tellie's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hollywood, Fl.
Boat: FP Athena 38' Poerava
Posts: 3,382
Re: Spectra Cape Horn Extreme 330

Patience Grasshopper.



You have a blockage somewhere after the two feed pumps. A blocked brine discharge line or possibly a clogged membrane.
Tellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:37   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Re: Spectra Cape Horn Extreme 330

Ok hooked up the service Brine discharge hose and ran it with same results, so not a blocked discharge. I find it hard to believe the membrane has gone bad only been running it in Bahamas for 3 months. It is a brand new unit and I would not think the membrane would go bad that fast. We flush with the Zion after every use.
PLANET EXPRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:28   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,716
Re: Spectra Cape Horn Extreme 330

If you are asking for help here it is usually a good idea to list the things you have already and eliminated as the problem. It can give your post more "cred" and save a lot of bandwidth.

For example... Have you changed the 5 micron filter? Maybe even tried running for a short bit without it? That's usually the cause...
billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 13:17   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 55
Re: Spectra Cape Horn Extreme 330

So what pressure can I run it to? I tested the pressure switch on the one pump and found it to cut off around 115. So I increased it to 125. It’s now running to 110, 115psi making about 17gph which I am happy with. It use to only go to 105 the specs say 90-100psi is normal operating.
__________________

PLANET EXPRESS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Horn Extreme no more? zboss Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 6 25-06-2018 10:48
Need Help With a Spectra Cape Horn Extreme Watermaker SmartMove Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 17 20-06-2018 06:32
[SOLD] Spectra Cape Horn Extreme Don Teagno General Classifieds (no boats) 6 01-05-2018 13:38
Spectra Catalina 340 vs Cape Horn Extreme 330? BrettB Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 8 09-04-2017 14:01
Cape Horn Extreme - Watermaker impi Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 8 11-01-2011 17:13

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.