Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-07-2008, 18:32   #1
Registered User
 
Mexico Mike's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cruising South Pacific, Yachats, OR in the Summer
Boat: Swallowcraft Swift 40, Arabella
Posts: 55
Send a message via Skype™ to Mexico Mike
Recharging Older Adler Barbour Cold Machine

After 5 years of good performance`(since`I've owned the boat-unit is older than that) the little "freezer compartment" only freezes on the side the refrigerant enters. Seemed like it might need a top-up with R-12, and here in Fiji they still have some and will use it. Only problem is, the Fijian refrigeration tech who came to my boat couldn't see anywhere to hook up to the unit, and I couldn't either. Can anybody help on this? Could it be possible is nowhere to put in more refrigerant? He wants to remove the unit and take it to his shop to retrofit some fittings and I'd like to avoid that...

Thanks,

Mike
__________________

__________________
"Are we there yet?"

www.sailinglinks.com
Mexico Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2008, 19:16   #2
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ft. Lauderdale
Posts: 784
Servicing old Adler Barbour

Prior to changes to the clean air act of 1995 Adler Barbour did not provide a refrigerant servicing port on their units, they did sell a dual line connector with a gauge to add refrigerant with. If unit has held refrigerant all this time the leak is probably a micro corrosion hole in evaporator and is not repairable. I would check with local boaters to see if someone has an AB servicing quick connect servicing gauge.
__________________

__________________
Richard Kollmann is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2008, 01:41   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
FWIW: Here’s the Adler Barbour (Waeco) ColdMachine & SuperColdMachine Installation & Operating Manual:
http://www.raycotechnologies.org/adlerbarbour.pdf
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2008, 19:57   #4
Registered User
 
Mexico Mike's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cruising South Pacific, Yachats, OR in the Summer
Boat: Swallowcraft Swift 40, Arabella
Posts: 55
Send a message via Skype™ to Mexico Mike
Thanks for the responses. If I was anywhere but here I'd probably bite the bullet and get a new unit, but it looks like we'll try to get this one working here.

Mike
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

www.sailinglinks.com
Mexico Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 11:21   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: Seafarer "Bahama"36' Temetayo
Posts: 5
brian ritts

I have an AB unit that is over 20 yrs old. On a recent trip to Desolation Sound it stopped cooling. The compressor continued to work so I hot wired the unit around the temperature setting sensor with no change. Is it possible or worth while to try and recharge the system or should I start shopping for a new unit?
__________________
brian ritts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 14:47   #6
Registered User
 
Mexico Mike's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: cruising South Pacific, Yachats, OR in the Summer
Boat: Swallowcraft Swift 40, Arabella
Posts: 55
Send a message via Skype™ to Mexico Mike
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian ritts View Post
should I start shopping for a new unit?
Probably the cost-effective alternative unless you are a refrigeration tech! Or just use ice...
We ended up buying a new system, with a huge holding plate, that happened to show up as somebodies un-needed spare in Fiji. It's more energy efficient than the old AB unit as well.

Best,

Mike
__________________
"Are we there yet?"

www.sailinglinks.com
Mexico Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-09-2009, 23:07   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Boat: Seafarer "Bahama"36' Temetayo
Posts: 5
Thanks Mike, sounds like you've found your solution, which in a far flung place like Fiji is quite a feat. It makes my problem seem easily solved. We did use ice on the cruise to Canada but again I would guess ice in Canada a lot more available than around the South Pacific. Hope I get a chance to find out first hand some day. About your quote, "Are we there yet" I think the answer is Yes you are. Brian
__________________

__________________
brian ritts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adler Barbour Cold Machine Issue sparty Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 29 31-07-2015 10:07
Adler Barbour recharge after long shutdown? svnakia Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 11 23-07-2008 14:48
Adler Barbour price gouging Vasco Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 5 15-09-2007 20:07
Seafrost vs Adler Barbour capt lar Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 10 11-04-2006 05:33



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:30.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.