Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2018, 10:29   #46
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Caribbean
Boat: Lagoon 450
Posts: 839
Re: Raritan Electroscan - any users?

Our display monitor played up as well, the LCD readout was all jumbled, though green and red lights worked ok. I guessed it was moisture from condensation in the bathroom. The unit was about a year old. I took a gamble and removed the back off and sprayed with electronics cleaner and then WD40, about 20 minutes later it came back on and now 3 years later still running fine. Just lucky I guess. We run Muriatic acid through the head once a year per the manual, and it certainly improves the electrical performance.
__________________

Bean Counter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2018, 14:24   #47
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide Sth Australia
Boat: 50ft Kelsall Tonga Catamaran
Posts: 36
Re: Raritan Electroscan - any users?

Thanks for the prompt replies, I did remove the status display panel and gave it a clean with elelctra-clean spray, I'll keep investigating, looking for a bad connection, thanks for the insight.

Regards Rod Lewis.
__________________

doublebubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2018, 21:29   #48
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Adelaide Sth Australia
Boat: 50ft Kelsall Tonga Catamaran
Posts: 36
Re: Raritan Electroscan - any users?

Update, as expected, faulty system status panel, new one purchased and all's back to normal.

Regards Rod Lewis
doublebubble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2019, 18:34   #49
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cruiser
Boat: Shannon 50
Posts: 10
Re: Raritan Electroscan - any users?

Do those of you that have Electro-scan have it installed "below" the water line? The installation manual states if "below" the water line, the "toilet discharge hose" must be "at or above the top" of the electro-scan treatment box. Do to this, running a vented loop between the Electro-scan and Toilet is needed...but needs only be higher than the "top" of the treatment box. I wish to do this and hope to only run the vented loop 1-2 feet above the "top" of the treatment box verses running the vented loop to or above the water line which is another 2-3 feet higher (4 feet total). This cuts down on the length of hose line, manual toilet pressure and number of pumps to get the waste to the Electro-scan. Does anyone on this forum wish to comment or offer suggestions on this? Much Appreciated!
macconews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-2019, 06:44   #50
Marine Service Provider
 
peghall's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,892
Re: Raritan Electroscan - any users?

The instructions refer to a TOILET that's below the waterline--which it is on most monohull sailboats. A vented loop in the toilet discharge line is needed to prevent waste in the ES from running back to the toilet. It needs to be at least 6-8" above waterline at max heel, same as a vented loop between the toilet and a thru-hull would be. So on most sailboats that would put it the same 2-3' above the bowl as toilet intake and discharge loops need to be whether the toilet flushes into a treatment device or out a thru-hull.

Any manual marine toilet that's working anywhere close to factory spec can easily lift bowl contents that high, and you only need to pump enough times to move it over the top of the loop....gravity will get it the rest of the way. Pump only enough times in the dry mode to do that, then switch to wet for a couple of pumps to bring in enough water to rinse the discharge line and switch to dry to push that over the top of the loop.


You're welcome to contact me directly if you have more questions.


--peggie
__________________
© 2019 Peggie Hall
Specializing in marine sanitation since '87.
Author "The NEW Get Rid of Boat Odors"
peghall is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-03-2019, 07:14   #51
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cruiser
Boat: Shannon 50
Posts: 10
Re: Raritan Electroscan - any users?

Thank You Peggie,
Great Advice. Much Appreciated.
__________________

macconews is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
raritan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ElectroScan brine tank - coloring the brine. Davidhoy Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 5 20-03-2017 07:52
Any Furuno GP33 Users Here ? svpresent Marine Electronics 6 12-02-2013 16:20
For Sale: Raritan ElectroScan electronics SailorHarry Classifieds Archive 8 16-05-2012 14:21
Any Globalstar users out there? amsvatek Marine Electronics 0 14-07-2007 16:57
Any AutoCad users here? knottybuoyz Construction, Maintenance & Refit 9 27-11-2006 06:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:26.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.