Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-11-2015, 10:16   #1

Boat: 1987 Cabo Rico 38 #117 (sold) & 2008 Manta 42 #124
Question about short RO membrane

Guys,

I am pricing out the cost of making my own watermaker because I do not have the space necessary to install a 44" or dual 21" elements without significant modification to our boat.

I found these 14" elements and I was thinking of ganging 2 or 4 of them together but since I am just learning about desal I have a few questions:

1) Would just a single 14" element produce drinkable water?

2) I found a diagram of a home built system that had two elements together but I could not determine from the diagram if the elements get hooked in parallel or in series. Which is better? Pro's and Con's?

3) Suppose I wanted to gang together more than 4 elements? Maybe 8? How do I determine the size HP high pressure pump I need?

I also found these for the housing:

2.5" x 14" Fiberglass/FRP Seawater Pressure Vessel F2514-14141000C WaterAnywhere

Are these vessels appropriate for the intended use?

Also, I found these membranes that appear to only need much lower pressure, which means you could use a much lower pressure pump I suppose... why don't people use these membranes?

http://www.wateranywhere.com/product...products_id=61

Thanks...

- z
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2015, 11:26   #2

Boat: Hunter Marine 38
Re: Question about short RO membrane

Before asking a lot of questions have a look at the specifications of the products you indicate. I noticed after 1 second that the wateranywhere specification is set for "Performance specifications based on 2,000 mg/l sodium chloride...". Is this seawater?
sailormed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-11-2015, 11:48   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailormed View Post